Databases: A-Z


As noted below, some of our subscription databases are restricted to specific NOAA Washington D.C. area campuses. For NOAA employees located outside of the Washington, D.C. area, check with your NOAA Library.

You may also view these databases arranged by subject.


ABI/Inform via LexisAdvance
(ABI/Inform database is available from the NOAA Central Library through our LexisAdvance subscription)

ABI/Inform is a major global business research database covering all aspects of business, from company profiles and SWOT analyses to management techniques. To access this database through LexisAdvance, enter ABI/INFORM in the search field and this will limit narrow your search to the ABI/INFORM database on LexisAdvance.


AGU Journals
(Full-text is only available to NOAA staff served by the NOAA Central Library and College Park)

The American Geophysical Union publishes 20 highly respected, peer-reviewed scientific journals. Access American Geophysical Union (AGU) journals online including the Journal of Geophysical Research in seven disciplinary areas: Atmospheres, Biogeosciences, Earth Surface, Oceans, Planets, Solid Earth, Space Physics; Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems (2000-present), Paleoceanography (1986-present), Space Weather (2003-present), and the AGU open access journals: Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems (JAMES) (2009-present), Earth and Space Science (2014-present), Earth's Future (2013-present), GeoHealth (new, accepting submissions).


American Meteorological Society (AMS)
(NOAA-wide subscription)

Search the full-text of 11 AMS journals running from 1873 to present, including Monthly Weather Review (1873-present), Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society (1970-present), Journal of Climate (1988-present), Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology, Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology, Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, Earth Interactions, Journal of Hydrometeorology,Journal of Physical Oceanography, Weather and Forecasting, Weather, Climate, and Society.


Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
(NOAA-wide subscription)

International database of aquatic science abstracts covering science, technology and management of marine, brackish, and freshwater environment and organisms from 1971 to present.


BioOne Abstracts and Indexes
(NOAA-wide subscription)

BioOne is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It provides a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.


Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers
(Available to anyone)

Search for or browse the top researchers in the life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social science by name, category, country, or institutional affiliation, to access biographical information, publications listings, and links to bibliographic information determined by a citation analysis of Web of Science data.


Conference Papers Index
(Available NOAA-wide)

Provides citations to Life sciences, environmental sciences, aquatic sciencespapers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world from 1982 to present.


E & E News
(Available NOAA-wide)

E&E News (Environment & Energy Publishing) is a leading source of comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. Titles include Climatewire, E&E Daily, E&E News PM, Energywire, and Green wire.


EconLit Full-Text
(Available to NOAA Fisheries staff NOAA-wide and at NOAA Central Library public access PCs)

The American Economic Association's source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969 plus full text for more than 400 publications.


Elsevier Science
(Abstracts available to anyone)

Search article abstracts and table of contents of Elsevier journals, books and more. See also Science Direct.


HeinOnline
(Available NOAA-wide)

Through HeinOnline, we have access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), a comprehensive collection, containing more than 8,500 volumes (beginning with the 1st CFR edition in 1938) AND the Federal Register Library collection that begins with Vol 1 (1936) and also includes the CFRs and a Federal Register Quick Reference guide.

The HeinOnline Welcome Page features a list of the law journals, legislative histories and related collections that are available to you when you are onsite at NOAA.


Journal Citation Reports Science Edition
(Available NOAA-wide)

Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 5,900 scholarly and technical journals from more than 5,000 publishers in over 60 countries. It includes virtually all areas of science and technology.


JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive
(Available NOAA-wide)

Complete full-text archives of core scholarly journals, some dating from the 1600s. Search by topic, keywords, titles, authors and dates. NOAA subscribes to these JSTOR collections of titles: Arts & Sciences I; Arts & Sciences VII; Biological Sciences; Business; Health & General Sciences; Mathematics & Statistics; Public Health Reports. (You can view titles in specific collections or search by disciplines)


LexisAdvance
(NOAA-wide subscription)

LexisAdvance

Contact library staff for a user id and password at Library.Reference@noaa.gov or call the Reference Desk at 301-713-2600 ext. 157.


Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
(Available only to NOAA staff at Silver Spring, Camp Springs, Miami, and Seattle.)

Index of the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, and hydrology from 1974 to present.


Nexis.com
(Available NOAA-wide)

Nexis.com offers news, business, and legislative information. NOAA staff at Silver Spring campus can access Nexis.com without a user id and password (access is through IP authentication). For NOAA staff outside Silver Spring, contact the Reference Desk for a user id and password or call the Reference Desk at 301-713-2600 ext. 157.


NOAA eBook Collection
(NOAA-wide subscription)

Features more than 300 online book titles, including 200 Information Technology (IT) books on subjects including HTML, XHTML, XML, Visual Basic.Net, CGI, Dreamweaver, PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development, and more.


Oceanic Abstracts
(NOAA-wide subscription)

Indexes and abstracts worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment from 1981 to present.


ProQuest Databases

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (1971-current), Business Dateline (1971-current), COS Conference Papers Index‎ (1982-current), Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts‎(1950-current), The Wall Street Journal‎ (1984-current), Water Resources Abstracts‎ (1967-current).

Indexes and abstracts worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment from 1981 to present.


ScienceDirect

Search 2,500 journals and 11,000 digital books. Provides access to 8 online full-text journals from Elsevier Science for patrons of NOAA Central Library in Silver Spring, MD.


USA Trade Online
(Available only at the public workstations of the NOAA Central Library. Ask a NOAA librarian for assistance with login information.)

A STAT-USA service for researching U.S. imports and exports.


Water Resources Abstracts
(NOAA-wide subscription)

Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.


Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded
(Available NOAA-wide)

Indexes over 5,800 leading international scientific journals, provides author, cited reference and keyword searching, and provides links to the original full-text if the library has a subscription. Current subscription covers the years 1970-present. PLEASE NOTE: this log-in link provides access to both Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, and free ISI databases.


Web of Knowledge Additional Resources
(Available NOAA-wide)

Includes ISI HighlyCited, BiologyBrowser, Index to Organism Names, Researcher ID, Science Watch, and Scientific WebPlus.


Westlaw
(Note: Access to Westlaw is limited to NOAA Office of General Counsel staff. )

Westlaw is a major legal research database of primary law, legal analysis and litigation materials. Contact Library Reference Desk for an ID and password.


Worldcat.org
(Available to anyone)

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. The database contains all the records cataloged by Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) member libraries; offers millions of bibliographic records.


Worldcat via First Search Databases
(Available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)

Worldcat via First Search provides additional functionality. A username/password is required to access this database. Information can be obtained at the Reference Desk at (301)-713-2600 ext. 157.



Back to Top



Questions about this page may be directed to the Library Reference Staff at Library.Reference@noaa.gov