|You are Here: Library Home > Research Tools > Subject Guides and Bibliographies > WINDandSEA
WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide
Topics: Weather thru Wetlands
Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.Arctic Change: A Near Real-Time Arctic Change Indicator Website from
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Arctic Office
Providing information on the present state of Arctic ecosystems and climate in historical context.
Arctic Climatology and Meteorology Glossary
Byrd Polar Research Center
*, at the Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
Cold Regions Bibliography Project*
pointers* from Ohio State University. A comprehensive listing
of links to polar meteorology, oceanography, and other earth sciences.
AWIPS (Advanced Weather Interactive Processing System)NOAA AWIPS Local Applications home page
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/ops2/ops24/awips.htm The Aviation Weather Center , meteorology, and satellite imagery home page. Particularly good as it allows immediate links to many Nexrad radar displays around the United States.
Handbook No. 1. METAR-TAF information, weather codes, etc.
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/mfl/hazards/info/beaufort.php American Meteorological Society career page*.
http://www.ametsoc.org AIRS - Atmospheric Infrared Sounder home page of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory
and precipitation guide* from the University of Illinois Urbana Campus.
Photographs with associated texts of many different cloud types.
International Satellite Cloud climatology Project (ISCCP)
from NASA including links to various cloud data, maps, and plots.
Clouds and the Energy Cycle - a NASA developed page.
Houze's Cloud Atlas* from the
Lidar research group at the University
of Wisconsin*. Mapping cloud height and extent by volume imaging
lidar. Technically oriented site; however, many images of data products
from various lidar systems.
Shuttle Views the Earth: Clouds from Space
Atmospheric and Oceanic Science*. A nice set of lecture notes
in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences 100 from the University of Wisconsin.
Links to many images illustrating concepts. Also check out the Outreach
Index. Really nice case studies of various weather events.
of Illinois On-Line Guide to Meteorology*. Well-done tutorial
with lots of diagrams and photographs.
Northern Latitude Meteorology*. Web site provides education and training materials on meteorological topics of interest
to those in the northern latitudes, in particular those in Canada, Alaska, and states in the northern U.S.
Penn State Department of Meteorology, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences - Weather Page
*. Provides links to University's various weather systems and models.
National Interagency Fire Center
NOAA's National Weather Service Fire Weather page. Latest fire weather warnings, forecasts, and outlooks.
NOAA's National Weather Service Fire Weather Forecasts. Data available since June 4, 2002.
National Weather Service Boise Fire Weather page
NOAA's Operational Significant Imagery Fire Events 2009 Index
NOAA News - "NOAA WARNS NEW YEAR WILL BRING SERIOUS THREAT OF WILDFIRES"
National Integrated Drought Information System (NIDIS) - U.S. Drought Portal
NOAA's Drought Information Center. A portal for NOAA drought and climate conditions as of February 2009, includes some external links.
NOAA's Drought Calculator. Drought Termination and Amelioration, calculates the amount of rainfall needed to end droughts around the country.
NOAA's Drought Monitoring. Utilizing the Palmer Drought Severity Index (PDSI) and Crop Moisture Index (CMI).
Red Cross flood disaster and preparedness information.
Flood plain management website*
from the Flood Plain Management Association. Click on "Flood Basics" to
access The Learning Center.
Flood information page
from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research flood site* including on-line documents, statistics, links, and other information. http://sciencepolicy.colorado.edu/socasp/floods.htmlNational Weather Service's National Warnings. This page provides access to all active warnings for the United States, including tornadoes, severe thunderstorms, hurricanes, winter storms, floods, flash floods, tsunamis, and space weather.
UNISYS Weather Processor*.
Current United States weather, forecasts for various meteorological parameters,
archived meteorological data.
National Centers for Environmental Prediction:
Hurricanes*. Run by Dr. William M. Gray, this site from the Tropical Meteorological Project, Colorado State University archives forecasts from 1999 to the present.
weather five-day weather forecasts* for cities on six continents, all
continents and Pacific islands. Weather site maintained by USA Today.
Damages in the United States: 1925-1995
U.S. Natural Hazard
Statistics. Provides statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather-related hazards. Compiled by the Office of Services and the National Climatic Data Center.
forest effect* on heat islands from NASA.
Island* from the University of Wisconsin at Madison.
Climate of 2006: June in Historical Perspective
NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories Hurricane
Typhoons, and Tropical Cyclones. This is an outstanding FAQ site put
out by NOAA's Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories.
Climate Prediction Center:
Atlantic Hurricane Outlook.
Hurricanes. Landfall maps, descriptions of individual storms, etc. from the National
Climatic Data Center hurricane information.
Centre*. This site provides warnings and advisories for storms that pose threats to Canada's
East Coast as well as threats to the U.S.
Colorado State University
Tropical Meteorology Project*
Federal Emergency Management
Agency (FEMA) Hurricane Page. Primarily safety measures for actions before,
during, and after tropical storms and hurricanes.
Historical Hurricane Tracks from NOAA's Coastal Services Center.
brochures (and other natural phenomena) from the Library of the NOAA
Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories. The bibliography
is organized for teachers and has age-range appropriate information while
the brochures are a great source of meteorological information and practical
Home Page*. United States Air Force Hurricane Hunters provide a virtual
flight into the eye of a hurricane.
Hurricane Katrina information
NOAA Storm Watch page - Hurricane Rita
tracking charts from NOAA's National Hurricane Center
Monthly Weather Review
Annual Reviews of Atlantic Hurricanes from 1851-present* from NOAA's Regional Miami Libraries website
Data index page*. Includes hurricane archives back to 1886
and includes tracks of each individual storm. Includes tracks for
eastern Pacific and western Pacific hurricanes and typhoons, Atlantic aviation
forecasts showing pressure and wind fields, and current satellite
imagery for the Atlantic and Pacific.
Guide to Hurricane Information*. An informative site with glossary,
GEWEX*. The international office of the Global Energy and Water Cycle Experiment - a World Climate Research Program to observe and model the hydrologic cycle and energy fluxes in the atmosphere.
Hydrologic Cycle*. Part of the University of Illinois online guide
National Hydrology Dataset from the U. S. Geological Survey (USGS)and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
NOAA's National Weather Service Office of Hydrologic Development
U.S.G.S. - Water Resources of the United States. Water Resources' mission is to provide water information for major watersheds around the world, including publications, data, maps, and applications software.
Global Lake and River Ice Phenology
* from the National Snow and Ice Data Center
Arctic and Antarctic Research
Institute*, Russian institution
Blizzards of '96
* from the National Snow and Ice Data Center
Coast Guard International
Ice Patrol. This site includes a FAQ page, a history page, TITANIC
information, pictures, mission statement, etc., etc. Really a fun page.
Lake Effects Snow - The
Veterans' Day Snowstorm of November 9-14, 1996*. A case study
of a severe lake effect storm from the University of Illinois. Personal
accounts, news clippings, technical interpretations.
National Ice Center
National Snow and
Ice Data Center* - World Data Center A for Glaciology
http://www.wmo.int/pages/members/members_en.html Links to Meteorology Journals and Magazines * from Professor Ronald B. Smith, Dept. of Geology and Geophysics, Yale University
http://www.geology.yale.edu/~smith/metjour.html Colorado Lightning Resource Center from the National Weather Service, Pueblo, Colorado.
Lightning Detection* from the Vaisala Group's Thunderstorm Business Unit, specializing in lightning mapping and warning systems and services.
Langmuir Laboratory for Atmospheric Research
lightning, hail, and rain research. Home of lightning attracting
Lightning: Background and more
* from the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)
Lightning Links from the National Weather Service Nashville office.
Lightning Activity Level
NASA lightning detection
National Weather Service Lightning Safety
National Lightning Safety Institute*.
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/climateresourcesother.html Atlantic Coast Observer Network * is a volunteer network of observers from Maryland, Virginia, and D.C.. Member data is reported and archived on this site hosted by the JHU Applied Physics Lab.
Capital Weather Gang* is a blog provided by The Washington Post Online, dedicated to providing comprehensive weather information for the Washington, D.C. area.
Hagerstown Weather* from Greg Keefer, Hagerstown Weather Observer.
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab
* Weather Home Page
National Weather Service Forecast
Office Washington/Baltimore*. This office is located in Sterling, Virginia
near Dulles International Airport.
: Precipitation Summary and Temperature Observations for the Washington, D.C. & Baltimore, MD Area, from the NWS Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services
* from NBC Channel 4 Weather District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland. Current and historical weather conditions for many schools in and around the D.C. metro area.
Links to marine
weather forecasts* through Ohio State University.
Ocean Prediction Center of
NOAA National Centers for Environmental Prediction.
National Data Buoy Center
National Weather Service, Marine and Coastal Weather Services
Inc*. Description of products and services and hourly up-dated
USA Today ocean weather,
wind, waves, etc*.
MonsoonArizona Monsoon and Desert Meteorology* from Arizona State University.
GEWEX/GAME - Homepage of Global
Energy and Water-Cycle Experiment/GEWEX Asian Monsoon Experiment
from Nagoya University, Japan.
Monsoon On Line* from the
Area Monsoon Project* - SWAMP. A study of the monsoon in the southwestern
http://www.roc.noaa.gov American Meteorological Society (AMS)*
National Weather Association*
UCAR - the University Corporation
for Atmospheric Research*. A consortium of over 60 universities
involved in the atmospheric sciences plus other academic and corporate
World Meteorological Organization*
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/nwr/ Emergency beacons from NOAA's Search and Rescue Satellite-aided Tracking program (SARSAT)
Rip Currents: Break the Grip of the Rip from NOAA's National Weather Service. Contains rip current overview, safety tips, forecasts, photos, headlines/saving lives, survivor stories, links, statistics, and glossary. Also available are our full color brochure on rip current safety and free artwork for a safety sign.
Safety Publications from the NOAA Office of Climate, Water and Weather Services for tornadoes, flash floods, floods, hurricanes, thunderstorm/lightning, and
for flood victims from the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission.
of Satellite Operations Home Page. Links to polar orbiting and GOES
from NOAA's National Severe Storm Laboratory (NSSL).
Weather* site - includes information on tornadoes, tropical cyclones,
Australian Sky and Weather*
NOAA's National Severe Storms Laboratory, one of NOAA's research laboratories, investigates all aspects of severe weather.
Weather Safety and Survival guide from the Norman, Oklahoma National Weather Service Forecast Office.
Storm Advanced Spotter's Guide* with many photographs and diagrams from
the University of Illinois.
Storm Prediction Center, part of NOAA's
National Weather Service (NWS) and the National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP). Its mission is to provide timely and accurate forecasts and watches for severe thunderstorms and tornadoes over the contiguous United States.
An Introduction to Storm Observation and Reporting, an illustrated guide to identifying severe storms.
Storm Track Online*
TORRO - UK Tornado and Storm Research
Organization*. Interesting site that highlights UK and other
European tornado information.
SeverePlotv2: Historical Severe Weather Report Analysis Program
Storm Events Database
Storm Prediction Center
Tornado photos from the National Severe Storms Laboratory and the National
U.S. Tornado Climatology
NOAA Radio Warnings
of the surface weather map with description and meaning of various
Reading Weather Maps from the University of Illinois
NOAA Daily Weather Maps from the former Weather Bureau publication "Daily Weather Map", includes Surface Weather Maps, the 500-Millibar Height Contours chart, the Highest and Lowest Temperatures chart, and the Precipitation Areas and Amounts chart [2002 - present] .
USA Today National Weather Maps
The Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin (WWCB)
is jointly prepared by the U.S. Department of Commerce, NOAA, and the USDA. The WWCB provides a vital source of information on weather, climate and agricultural developments worldwide, along with detailed charts and tables of agrometeorological information that are appropriate for the season.
Hurricane Preparedness: High Winds from the National Hurricane Center
Climatic Wind Data for the United States
Wind Research from the National Renewable Energies Laboratory
Wind Chill Temperature Index, Wind Chill
Chart, and FAQs from the National Weather Service
* page for Educators from the
Winds: Measuring Ocean Winds from Space from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory.
Wind energy resources from the Department of Energy
All About Snow
* from the National Snow and Ice Data Center
of 1996* from the National Snow and Ice Data Center.
Ice Storm - An occupational health and safety site from SAREC,
a Canadian environmental and health consulting firm. Includes information
on hypothermia and carbon monoxide dangers
among other topics.
Snow - California Snow Surveys
from the California Resources Agency, Department of Water Resources.
Snow - Lake
Effect Weather Page from the Buffalo National Weather Service Office
- this has lots of good information as well as current ratings of snow
events by the "Lake Flake Scale."
Northeast Snowfall Impact Scale, or NESIS
Snow - Snow-Storm
on Mount Shasta by John Muir*. A description by John Muir of being
caught in a snowstorm on one of the highest mountains in California.
Originally transcribed and prepared by John Ono of the College of the Siskiyous
FEMA Winter Storms and Extreme Cold
Winter Storms (General) - The
Greatest Storms of the Century , winter weather in DC, Virginia, and
Maryland from the Sterling, Virginia, National Weather Service Forecast
Office includes descriptions of many winter storms including blizzards,
ice storms, and the the Ash Wednesday Storm of 1962.
Winter Storms (General) - Pacifica,
California, Police Department provides good advice* on what to do and
what to have ready in the event of a California coastal storm.
U.S. Climate Normals: Freeze/Frost Data from NOAA's National Climatic Data Center
Winter Storms (General) - The Weather
Channel Winter Storms page* - much useful information.
Winter Storms (General) - Winter
Weather Winter Weather Information* from the Illinois State Water Survey
State Wetland Managers.*
Center for Watershed Protection*
- major concern is protecting and restoring urban watersheds, particularly
in reference to storm water runoff problems.
Monitoring and Assessment Program (EMAP) from EPA.
Estuarine Research Federation*.
and ecology links.*
National Estuary Program
from the Environmental Protection Agency
National Wetlands Inventory of the
U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Wetlands from NOAA Fisheries Office of Habitat Conservation provides information on coastal wetlands.
Society of Wetland Scientists.*
education* system from Purdue University and the EPA. A nice educational
"The people of the United States are no longer strangers to that dreaded aerial monster, the TORNADO. A single experience of this awful convulsion of the elements suffices to fasten the memory of its occurrence upon the mind with such a dreadful force that no effort can efface the remembrance of it. The destructive violence of this storm exceeds in its power, fierceness, and grandeur all other phenomena of the atmosphere." John P. Finley, 1887, in the introduction to his classic work, TORNADOES.