|You are Here: Library Home > Research Tools > Subject Guides and Bibliographies > WINDandSEA
WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide
Topics: Organizations thru Tides
Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.
of State Climatologists (AASC)* - Provides links to offices of all state climatologists
and regional data centers.
Elasmobranch Society (AES)* - A society dedicated to studying, conserving,
and reporting on sharks, skates, rays, chimaera, etc.
American Fisheries Society* - Organization dedicated to strengthening the fisheries profession, advancing fisheries science, and conserving fisheries resources
American Geophysical Union (AGU)* - Fosters earth and space science research
American Meteorological Society
(AMS)* - Promotes development and dissemination of information and education on atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences; publishes notable meteorological and atmospheric journals
Society, Inc.* - This organization publishes the journal Invertebrate Biology
and is dedicated to furthering the use of the microscope in biology.
American Society for Environmental
History (ASEH)* - Promotes scholarship and teaching in environmental history; publishes journal Environmental History
American Society of Limnology and Oceanography
(ASLO)* - Professional association for researchers and educators in aquatic sciences; publishes journal Limnology & Oceanography
American Wind Energy Association (AWEA)* - Promotes wind energy as clean source of electricity
Association for the Study of Literature
and the Environment (ASLE)* - Promotes interdisciplinary approach to study of nature and culture
Association of American Geographers (AAG)* - Members share interest in theory, methods, and practice of geography
Ecological Society of America (ESA)* - Promotes communication, public awareness, and resources related to ecological science
EnviroLink Network* - Nonprofit organization acting as Internet clearinghouse for environmental information and news
links to environmental organizations. This is a comprehensive listing.
The Hydrographic Society of America (THSOA)* - Promotes education in hydrography
The Institute of Navigation* - Dedicated to advancing the art and science of positioning, navigation, and timing
Marine Science Institutes - See "Oceanography - Academic Institutions" section of WINDandSEA
Marine Technology Society (MTS)* - Promotes awareness, understanding, and application of marine technology; publishes Marine Technology Society Journal
National Association of Marine
Laboratories* - Organization of over 120 affiliated U.S. marine
laboratories working to improve the quality and effectiveness of ocean, coastal, and Great Lakes research, education, and outreach
Renewable Energy Policy Project (REPP)* - Supports the advancement of renewable energy technology through policy research
The Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ)* - Professional association dedicated to more and better coverage of environmental issues;
Check the journalism gallery for gems of environmental writing, the linking
page for hundreds of links, and the SEJournal archives.
International Hydrographic Organization
(IHO)* - Intergovernmental consultive and technical organization supporting safety of navigation and protection of the marine environment; provides links to contact information for foreign hydrographic offices
International Maritime Organization (IMO)* - IMO is a specialized agency responsible for improving maritime safety and
preventing pollution from ships.
Commission (IOC) of UNESCO* - Promotes international cooperation in research, monitoring and protection of the ocean
SCOR - Scientific Committee on
Oceanic Research* - Nongovernmental organization for promotion and coordination of international oceanographic activities
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)* - U.N.'s designated entity for addressing environmental issues at the global and regional level; addresses many global programs in
the atmospheric, oceanic, and biological sciences.
World Meteorological Organization (WMO)* - U.N. agency providing framework for international cooperation on weather, climate, and water cycles
Admiralty* - From Cornell University's Legal Information Institute (LII), provides information on statutes concerned with navigable waters and shipping, as well as laws governing the Coast Guard and Navy operations
Center for Environmental Philosophy* - From the University of North Texas, provides information on environmental ethics programs in acadmia
Center for International Environmental
Law* - Promotes use of international law to protect the environment and human health and to ensure a more sustainable society
Coastal Resources Center* - From the University
of Rhode Island's Graduate School of Oceanography; this is a particularly good site for information on coastal management
Environmental Justice - From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); provides basic and policy information, as well as news, publications, and information on grants, working groups, and awards
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI)
* - From SEDAC, Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, Columbia University; find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information;
H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment
* - nonprofit think tank dedicated to improving the scientific and economic foundation for environmental policy
Institute for the Study of Society and Environment* - From the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) of the National Science Foundation; promotes integrated science across NCAR laboratories and across disciplines
Interagency Ocean Policy Task Force - Led by the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ), works on U.S. national policy for oceans, coasts, and Great Lakes, as well as effective coastal and marine spatial planning
Marine Policy* - Elsevier journal on ocean policy studies, which analyzes the principal social science disciplines relevant to the formation of marine policy
National Drought Mitigation
Center* - From the University of Nebraska-Lincoln; good information concerning causes
and effects of drought as well as relationship to El Nino.
NOAA National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NCCOS)
NOAA Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental
Affairs - up-to-date status of legislation affecting the National Oceanic
and Atmospheric Administration. Be sure to review The Legislative
Informer, the on-line periodical of this office.
NOAA State-of-the-Coast Report [retired site, 1998-2001]
- a major report and policy statement from NOAA concerning our Nation's
Oceans and Law of the Sea* - From the United Nations Division of Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea; provides full
text of the U.N. Convention on the Law of the Sea, and related resources
Ocean and Coastal Law Center* - From the University of Oregon; dedicated to research and education in the law and regulations affecting ocean use, ocean resources, and the coastal zone
Report to the President on the Use
of Technology to Strengthen K-12 Education in the United States (March
1997)* - from the American Geological Institute's Government Affairs Program
Societal Aspects of Weather* - Maintained by Center of Science and Technology Policy Research at University of Colorado-Boulder; Check out the pages for specific weather Phenomena (floods, hurricanes, etc) as well as the pages on Injury & Damage Statistics, Insurance, etc.
Subject Bibliographies in Environmental Ethics*
- From the Center for the
Study of Values in Public Life at the Harvard Divinity School
The Trade and Environment Database* - From American University's School of International Service; this
site offers in-depth studies of the intersection of economics with environmental
policy from around the world.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)* - Designated United Nations entity for addressing environmental issues at the global and regional level, to coordinate development of environmental policy consensus
U.S. Drought Portal - Interactive system providing drought warnings and data and information on impacts, risks, drought history, managing droughts, and a forum for stakeholder issues
United States Commission on Ocean Policy [archive site] - The Oceans Act of 2000 mandated the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy to recommend a new national ocean policy to the President. The Commission delivered its Final Report, "An Ocean Blueprint for the 21st Century," to the President and Congress on September 20, 2004. The Council on Environmental Quality's Committee on Ocean Policy helps formulate the Administration's response to the report's recommendations
The White House - Information on the U.S. President, the Executive Office of the President, and the Administration's policies on specific issues
The White House - Office of Science
and Technology Policy - Advises the President and others on the impacts of
science and technology on domestic and international affairs.
American Fisheries Society (AFS) Journals* - AFS journals dealing with fisheries science, fishery management, aquaculture, and more
American Geophysical Union (AGU) Publications
Gateway to AGU journals, Digital Library, and books dealing with the scientific study of the earth and its environment in space
American Meteorological Society Journals* - AMS journals dealing with meteorology, atmospheric sciences, weather, climate, physical oceanography, and more
National Academies Press* - Full
text reports and books of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council
NOAA Libraries' Catalog - Searchable catalog of NOAA publications and related publications covering weather and atmospheric sciences, oceanography, ocean engineering, nautical charting, marine ecology, marine resources, ecosystems, coastal studies, aeronomy, geography, cartography, mathematics, statistics, and related disciplines
NOAA Publication Sources - Links to the Publications webpages of various NOAA offices and programs; this page is a resource of the NOAA Central Library
NOAA Publications - Provides links to the NOAA Libraries' Catalog records for NOAA technical memoranda, NOAA technical reports, and other NOAA publications by NOAA series; page is organized under NOAA line offices, and is supported by NOAA's Seattle Regional Library
American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing - Imaging and geospatial information society; works to improve understanding of mapping sciences and promote responsible applications of photogrammetry, remote sensing, and geographic information systems
Canada Centre for
Remote Sensing* - From Natural Resources Canada, in English and French
Imaging Radar - From NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA. Much good information and many
images on this site.
Nice Geography Sites* - Originally from the University of Utrecht, Netherlands and now hosted at George Mason University, USA; this site
is very complete, and includes links from around the world including academic sites, government sites, and professional
organizations; see "GIS and Remote Sensing" category
Guide to Remote Sensing* - From the University of Illinois at Urbana.
Two instructional modules on radar and satellites. Introductions
to instrumentation and principles. A good education site.
Remote Sensing Tutorial - Overview of the principles and applications of remote sensing, from NASA Goodard Space Flight Center
Aperture Radar) Interferometry and Surface Change Detection - A 1994 workshop report - includes principles, applications,
technology, recommendations and a large number of references; from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory.
Navigation Data Center - From the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; covers waterborne commerce, vessel characteristics, port facilities, dredging information, and lock use/performance/characteristics
Canadian Coast Guard* - From Fisheries and Oceans Canada, in English and French
Canadian Hydrographic Service* - From Fisheries and Oceans Canada, in English and French; source of Canadian nautical charts and other navigation information.
Boating Fun* - Information on the Coast Guard Auxiliary sponsored Youth Education,
Boating, and Water Safety Program
(Emergency Position Indicating Radiobeacon) - From the U.S. Coast Guard's Navigation Center
Institute of Navigation* - International professional society for the advancement of positioning, navigation, and timing
Lifeguards' Guide to Oahu's Popular Guarded Beaches* - Project of the Hawaiian Lifeguard Association. Every
person contemplating a trip to Hawaii or other tropical beach areas
should review this site. It includes pages on beach and ocean
hazards, dangerous ocean organisms, and links to "All Stings Considered," a first aid manual for those encountering marine biohazards such as jellyfish, stingrays, etc.
Local Notice to
Mariners - From the U.S. Coast Guard's Navigation Center; for disseminating information on aids to navigation, hazards to navigation, and other information useful to mariners on U.S. waters
Marine Accident Investigation
Branch* - Investigates marine accidents involving U.K. vessels worldwide, and other vessels in U.K. territorial waters
Marine Weather - From the National Weather Service (NWS) Tallahassee WSFO. This site
covers all areas of the United States.
- Links to most United States schools concerned with marine transportation
and safety as well as many others from around the world.
National Transportation Safety Board - U.S. agency which investigates all civil aviation accidents in the U.S. and significant accidents in other modes of transportation
Navigation Center of the United
States Coast Guard
NOAA Ocean Prediction Center - Issues marine warnings, forecasts, and guidance to maritime users.
Rip Currents: Break the Grip of the Rip - From NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS); contains rip current overview, safety tips, forecasts, photos, headlines/saving lives, survivor stories, links, statistics, and glossary. Also available are our full color brochure on rip current safety and free artwork for a safety sign.
Royal Institute of Navigation* - Learned society with a focus on the development of navigation, and public awareness about the art and science of navigation
SARSAT (Search and Rescue Satellite Aided Tracking) - From NOAA's National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS); provides distress alert and location information to search and rescue authorities
St. Lawrence Seaway
System* - From the St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (U.S.) and the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (Canada); provides information on the maritime route from the Great Lakes
to the Atlantic Ocean; in English and French
- Canadian Transportation safety organization, from the Government of Canada
Transportation Security Administration (TSA) - Protects U.S. transportation systems for safe travel
United States Coast Guard - Protects the maritime economy and environment, defends maritime borders, and saves those in peril; one of the five armed forces of the U.S. and the only military organization of the Department of Homeland Security
Maritime Administration - Agency of the U.S. Department of Transportation dealing with waterborne transportation and the U.S. Merchant Marine
U.S. Merchant Marine
Academy* - Offers academic program to prepare students for careers such as service at sea, maritime employment ashore, or serving as an office in a reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces
Statistics Center - Compiled by the Navigation Data
Center of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
National Tidal Centre - From the Australian Bureau of Meteorology; specializes in sea level monitoring and analysis to derive trends in absolute sea level and related tidal issues
Sea Level Rise Reports - Issued over time by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Sea Levels Online - From NOAA's Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS)
Pacific Sea Level and Climate Monitoring Project - Sponsored by the Australian Agency for International Development; helps South Pacific Forum member countries understand the processes, scale and implications of sea level rise and extreme event variability in the region
Coral Reef Watch - From NOAA's Coral Reef Conservation Program; monitors sea surface temperatures worldwide to better understand and manage interactions leading to coral bleaching
Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center
- Information produced by the Navy's Fleet Numerical Oceanographic Center, including Global Sea Surface Temperature and Sea Surface Temperature Anomaly Charts
Includes archival information that traces evolution of recent El Nino,
ice information, and other parameters
Sea Surface Temperature (SST) Contour Charts - Contoured regional images of SST Analyzed Field Data, and other products, from NOAA's Satellite and Information Service
Sea Surface Temperature Imagery* - From Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory (APL); provides estimates of sea surface temperatures for various regions
for look-back ability.
Sea Surface Temperature Images - From NOAA's National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service (NESDIS); Color-enhanced versions of Sea Surface Temperature (SST) fields which NESDIS archives at the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
Sea Surface Temperatures* - Daily updates of data and images of sea surface temperatures from the University of
Wisconsin-Madison's Space Science and Engineering Center.
Sea Surface Temperature and Gulf Stream Information on the Web - From the NOAA National Weather Service (NWS) Office of Marine Forecasts
Temperature Data - From NOAA's National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC); provides temperature data from NODC's World Ocean Atlas database and other NODC data sets
Worldtime* - World-wide
sunrise and sunset computations
Center for Operational Oceanographic
Products and Services (CO-OPS) - Oceanographic Products and Services Division of the National Ocean
Service of NOAA; this office is the source of tide predictions for
the United States, tidal current information, real-time P.O.R.T.S information,
and tidal bench mark information
Tide Predictions for Australia, South Pacific, & Antarctica - From the Bureau of Meteorology, Commonwealth of Australia