WINDandSEA Index |
Previous page |
Next page |
Teachers and Students Corner |
NOAA Photosites |
Note: Starred* links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.
National and International Academic and Governmental Oceanographic Organizations*
A comprehensive list of links from Open Seas Instrumentation, Inc.
Department of Oceanography
Many good links and research project descriptions.
Branch Oceanographic Institution Inc.*
Not strictly an educational institution but primarily a non-profit research
institution that has its own fleet of ships and submersibles.
Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere and Ocean*
JISAO's mission and educational and research goals are closely aligned with those of NOAA and UW,
fostering collaborative research on a broad range of global and regional topics of concern and interest to the public.
Earth Observatory of Columbia University*.
The Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory (LDEO) is a leading research institution where more than 200
research scientists seek fundamental knowledge about the origin, evolution and future of the natural world.
Sea Grant Offices
Sea Grant Directories site. From this page, one can search the directory
or view a list of contact information in each state.
A&M University Oceanography*.
Texas A&M Department of Oceanography. Of particular interest
are the Links of Interest, a linking site to information on the Gulf of Mexico,
International research ship information, and other ocean observing systems.
of California at Santa Cruz*
Full descriptions of undergraduate and graduate programs.
School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology.
of Miami, Rosensteil School of Marine and Atmospheric Science (RSMAS)*
The Cooperative Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Studies (CIMAS)*
The Cooperative Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Studies (CIMAS) is a research institute of the University of Miami located in the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science (RSMAS). CIMAS serves as a mechanism to bring together the research resources of the University with those of NOAA in order to develop a center of excellence in research that is relevant to understanding the Earth's oceans and atmosphere within the context of the NOAA's mission.
of Rhode Island, Graduate School of Oceanography*
of Washington School of Oceanography*
Hole Oceanographic Institution*
Hole Oceanographic Institution Deep Submergence Laboratory*
Acoustic Ocean Thermometry
Acoustic Thermometry of Ocean Climate. Measuring global climate change through variations in the velocity of sound in
at the University of Washington Applied Physics Laboratory.
Antarctic and Southern Ocean
New Zealand Antarctic Institute
Includes Adaptation to the Cold, A Continent of Ice and Rock, history of Antarctic
exploration and more - a great resource for teachers and educators from the New
Zealand Antarctic Program.
Institute of Antarctic and Southern Ocean Studies (IASOS)*
The Institute of Antarctic and Southern Ocean Studies (IASOS) offers an undergraduate science degree, and graduate diploma, honours,
coursework masters, research masters and PhD programs for students to study a range of environmental topics with specific reference to
Antarctica and the Southern Ocean.
University of Tasmania.
of the Southern Ocean*.
Incorporates oceanographic information from the most recent German and Russian
cruises to points south of Latitude 30. A high quality electronic product.
Ohio State University.
A comprehensive listing of links to polar meteorology, oceanography, and other earth sciences.
High-level intergovernmental forum that provides a mechanism to address the
common concerns and challenges faced by the Arctic governments and the people
of the Arctic.
Arctic Theme Page
Links to Arctic related data from widely distributed national and international
Ohio State University.
A comprehensive listing of links to polar meteorology, oceanography, and other earth sciences.
NOAA Fisheries-Oceanography Coordinated Investigations
Ecological and climatic indices for the Bering Sea which will serve as measures
of climate and ecosystem status for the Bering Sea
Bibliographies on Specific Oceanic Topics
World Ocean Circulation Experiment (WOCE) bibliography
The International WOCE bibliography was started in October 1994 to provide a convenient reference source for WOCE Investigators as well as a record of the achievements of the project.
It is a collaborative project between the WOCE IPO, the WOCE Data Information Unit (at the University of Delaware) and the UK National Oceanographic Library at the Southampton
Oceanography Centre. As of 15th July 2002 the bibliography contained 6336 articles, of which 1677 published and 1485 unpublished papers were directly attributable to WOCE.
Buoy and Drifter Oceanography
Studies in the Mediterranean
Naval Postgraduate School
National Data Buoy Center (NDBC)
NOAA-National Weather Service (NWS), NDBC provides current and historical maps,
DART, APEX, TAO, and DODS links, Station Status, education, links and FAQ.
Global Drifter Buoy Centerand Data Assembly Center.
Automated Buoy System* (TABS)
Texas General Land Office and Texas A&M.
This system monitors offshore wind and currents and helps predict the trajectory
of oil and chemical spills.
for Real-time Geostrophic Oceanography (Argo)*
Argo is a global array of 3,000 free-drifting profiling floats that will measure
the temperature and salinity of the upper 2000 m of the ocean. This will allow
continuous monitoring of the climate state of the ocean, with all data being
relayed and made publicly available within hours after collection. View maps/get
data at Argo
Information Centre* also: NOAA AOMLS's ARGO site, and NOAA PMEL's
Careers in Oceanography and Marine Science
in Oceanography, Marine Science & Marine Biology*
Scripps Institute - UCSD
Very thorough list of links to many sources.
Careers & Jobs in Marine Biology & Oceanography*
Links to many sources, including postings for jobs, post docs, traineeships, internships, etc.
in Marine Science*
Contains interviews answers to FAQs and links. Also provides more of a Canadian
in Marine Science*
Australian Ocean Data Centre Joint Facility (AODCJF).
Belgium - Flanders Marine Institute
Oceanographic Data Centre*
Marine Environmental Data Service*
Fisheries and Oceans Canada.
Ozeanographisches Datenzentrum, Hamburg*
The German Oceanographic Data Centre (NODC) serves as a focal point for the national and international exchange of oceanographic data.
Marine Environmental Database, North Sea and Baltic Sea by 1° rectangles
Atlantic Ocean by 10° rectangles, stations of the Baltic Monitoring Programme,
cruise inventories and North Sea oil spill information.
Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center
Automated numerical meteorological and oceanographic (METOC) analyses and predictions.
National Oceanographic Data Centre: IFREMER/SISMER*
Catalogues, information and data request forms, and hyperlinks to other data
Oceanographic Data Center*
Information Service (MARIS), Netherlands*
North sea research projects (oceanography, biology, hydrography, geology, chemistry,
meteorology) Offshore oil and gas activities, sand and gravel extraction, and
a European directory of marine Environmental Data
Physical Oceanography Distributed Active Archive Center.
Ocean Data and Information Network for Africa
Southern African Data Centre for Oceanography (SADCO)*
States National Oceanographic Data Center
El Niño and La Niña
- Atmospheric Infrared Sounder home page
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Included under News and Data section is a cloud segment and an El Niño segment.
Niño Theme Page
FAQ page, links to data sources, El Niño forecast, etc. Award-winning site as
the Grand Champion winner of the best WWW Page in NOAA and Federal Showcase
Niña Theme Page
FAQ page, links to data sources, La Niña forecast, etc. Award-winning site as
the Grand Champion winner of the best WWW Page in NOAA and Federal Showcase
El Niño and La Niña Resources on the Internet*
COAPS Library at Florida State University
This site has bibliographies, on-line publications, links to other pages, etc.
Florida State University library
Niño-Southern Oscillation (ENSO) bibliography*
NOAA Physical Sciences Division ENSO publications.
Published four times a year by the Environmental and Societal Impacts Group with support from NOAA's Office of Global Programs. Discontinued in 2005, the website links to the Consortium for Capacity Building (CCB)* at the University of Colorado, Boulder, which focuses on enhancing the value and use of climate, water, and weather information for the betterment of societies and the well-being of individuals.
NASA JPL - Earth - El Niño
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory El Niño page.
Ocean Surface Topography from Space, El Niño/La Niña 1997-2001
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Altimetry data from TOPEX/POSEIDON
processed by the NOAA Laboratory for Satellite Altimetry
T traces the evolution and continuation of the 1997 El Niño event. In
particular, check the Eastern Equatorial Pacific diagrams shown for each week
between 1997 to 2002.
The Cooperative Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Studies (CIMAS)*
Ocean Surface Currents Glossary from CIMAS.
Texas A&M *
Glossary of oceanographic terms.
Global Sea Level Observing System (GLOSS)
BODC GLOSS Homepage*
British Oceanographic Data Centre (BODC)
The Global Sea Level Observing System (GLOSS) is an international programme aiming to establish high quality global and regional sea level measurement networks for application to climate, oceanographic and coastal sea level research. The programme became known as GLOSS as it provides data for deriving the 'Global Level of the Sea Surface'.
GOSIC GLOSS Homepage
Global Observing Systems Information Center is supported and hosted by NOAA-NCDC and the U.S. GCOS Program.
JCOMM GLOSS Homepage*
Joint WMO-IOC Technical Commission for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM)
Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS)
Gulf of Mexico
Management Service Gulf of Mexico Region.
Nice topic index.
Estuary Program - Gulf of Mexico
Delft University of Technology Institute of Earth-Oriented Space Research
Derived from satellite altimetry data. Map produced weekly.
Ocean Explorer Website
Vent information can be located throughout many of the NOAA ocean explorations,
including Galapago Rift 2002, and
the Submarine Ring of Fire 2002,
NOAA-PML Vents Program
Studies the geochemical, physical, biological, and geological environment surrounding hydrothermal seafloor vents.
WHOI Dive and Discover Hydrothermal Vents Page
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution educational page including vent basics, biology, videos, podcasts, and quizzes.
Includes the 1977 Discovery of Hydrothermal Vents at the Galápagos Rift.
International Ice Patrol
International Ice Patrol Oceanography
United States Coast Guard. Includes history of the Ice Patrol and the sinking of the TITANIC.
http://www.uscg.mil/lantarea/iip/home.html (click on Oceanography)
Joint Global Ocean Flux
U.S. Joint Global Ocean Flux Study*
The study of the carbon dioxide absorption capability of the World Ocean. This
program is an integral part of studies of global climate change.
Society of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO) Links*
This is a great linking page to weather, oceanography, space and satellite sites,
academic institutions, etc.
State University COAPS Program*
COAPS (Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies) Data Products.
Linking page to universities, organizations, etc.
Drilling Program linking page*.
The Ocean Drilling Program (ODP) ended in September 2003, succeeded by the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program.
Links to both pages are listed here.
Propulsion Laboratory PODAAC linking page
F for oceanography, climate, and earth sciences.
Global Change Master Directory
Links to oceanographic data and information.
NOAA Science on a Sphere (SOS) Ocean Datasets
Over 30 links to various Ocean-related Datasets provided by SOS, including NASA Sea Currents, Ocean Conveyer Belt,
Atlantic and Pacific Turtle Tracking, and Greenland Melting Trends.
(or the Global Directory of Marine (and Freshwater) Professionals*
Contains over 12680 records added on voluntary basis. It is intended to be a
tool for scientists, policy makers and anyone who needs to contact a marine
or freshwater professional.
Ohio State University.
A comprehensive listing of links to polar meteorology, oceanography, and
other earth sciences. (Click 'Polar Pointers' in left frame.)
A high level directory of ocean data and information maintained by the International
Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange Program of the International Oceanographic
Commission (IOC) of UNESCO.
Mapping the Seafloor
and research covering the continental margins*
National Science Foundation (NSF) Margins Office
sidescan sonar imagery
Covers Gulf of Mexico
Geophysical Data Center
Bathymetry, topography, and global relief imagery.
Ship DISCOVERER and USGS sidescan and seismic profile mapping
Juan de Fuca Ridge area.
Ship McArthur and USGS sidescan sonar mapping
Monterey Bay Marine Sanctuary.
topography derived from satellite altimetry data
NOAA and Scripps Institution of Oceanography.
Seafloor Mapping Surveys.
USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program
The Encyclopedia of Earth Ocean Acidification Page*
The Encyclopedia of Earth Ocean Acidification page and related links.
NOAA Ocean Acidification with Coral Reefs page
The Ocean Acidification with Coral Reefs page is one of many NOAA Science on a Sphere (SOS) Ocean Datasets.
NRDC Ocean Acidification Home Page*
National Resources Defense Council (NRDC) Ocean Acidification Home Page.
Ocean Acidification Home Page
NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL) Ocean Acidification Home Page. Links to various NOAA pages relating to the topic.
Ocean Acidification Network*
International Science Symposium series put on by the Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR), the Intergovernmental Ocenaographic Commission of UNESCO (UNESCO-IOC), the IAEA Marine Environment Laboratory, and the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme.
Oceanus Magazine articles concerning Ocean Chemistry, including Carbon Cycle, Chemistry of Groundwater, Chemistry of Pollution, and Nutrients. Oceanus is published by Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.
Ocean Drilling Program
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program*
United States Implementing Organization Integrated Ocean Drilling Program (IODP-USIO). The Integrated Ocean Drilling Program (IODP) is an international research organization that conducts seagoing expeditions to study the history of the Earth recorded in sediments and rocks beneath the ocean floor.
Ocean Drilling Program*
Texas A&M. This site gives history of the program, results, ship schedule, etc.
Drilling Program linking page*.
The HYCOM consortium is a multi-institutional effort sponsored by the National Ocean Partnership Program (NOPP), as part of the U. S. Global Ocean Data Assimilation Experiment (GODAE), to develop and evaluate a data-assimilative hybrid isopycnal-sigma-pressure (generalized) coordinate ocean model (called HYbrid Coordinate Ocean Model or HYCOM).
HYCOM web links* to partner organizations in the consortium.
Naval Research Laboratory Real-Time Global Ocean Analysis and Modeling
This site contains real-time and archived nowcast/forecast results from the 1/32° global Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) Layered Ocean Model (NLOM), including snapshots, animations and forecast verification statistics for many zoom regions, mainly sea surface height (SSH), sea surface temperature (SST) and surface currents.
Supported by the Office of Naval Research, The Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences at Rutgers University, Scripps, and Oregon State University, this site provides models, data sources, and links to various related resources.
Links to the Regional Ocean Modeling System (ROMS)* and various other services.
Modeling with Super Computers*
National Science Foundation and Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center.
Trying to predict currents, temperatures, sea-level rise, biological parameters,
acoustic scattering and other parameters.
- Ocean General Circulation Model*
Laboratoire d'Océanographie Dynamique et de Climatologie (LODYC)
Ocean Program Simulation part of Arctic
Naval Postgraduate School.
Ocean Program (POP)
Los Alamos National Laboratory
The Unstructured Grid Finite Volume Coastal Ocean Model (FVCOM) *
FVCOM is a prognostic, unstructured-grid, finite-volume, free-surface, 3-D primitive equation coastal ocean circulation model developed by UMASSD-WHOI joint efforts.
Ocean Surface Topography From Space
Oceanographic Satellite home page.
Joint US-French orbital mission, launched in 1992 to track changes in sea-level height with radar altimeters.
TOPEX/Poseidon PO.DAAC page
The Physical Oceanography Distributed Active Archive Center (PO.DAAC) is the NASA data center responsible for archiving and distributing data relevant to the physical state of the ocean.
TOPEX/Poseidon Mission NASA home page
Launched in 1992 to map ocean surface topography, the TOPEX/Poseidon provided over 10 years worth of data.
Information concerning the Jason-1 and OSTM/Jason-2 Missions are also available on the NASA Ocean Surface Topography from Space site.
Oceanographic Images from Space
NASA Earth Observatory - Oceans
The Earth Observatory mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about climate and the environment that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and climate models.
The Oceans Image of the Day features satellite images browsable by month and year from 1999 - present.
Earth from Space
NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) gateway to astronaut photography of Earth.
Enter search terms such as Ocean or Oceanography for results of such images captured by astronauts.
NASA Image Exchange (NIX) - Oceanography
Keyword search for Ocean or Oceanography searches all NASA multimedia to provide results.
from the Space Shuttle
Photos and explanations of various observations made by the astronauts.
NASA Goddard Oceanography from the Space Shuttle
Oceanography from the Space Shuttle is a pictorial survey of oceanic phenomenon visible to the naked eye from space.
- Oceanography Educational Materials
NOAA/PMEL Home Page
The Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL) carries out interdisciplinary scientific investigations in oceanography and atmospheric science.
Also search the PMEL Outstanding Scientific Papers Bibliography with links to specific abstracts and publications.
Marine Metadata Interoperability POGO Ocean Cruises Page*
POGO serves as a forum for leaders of major oceanographic institutions around the world to promote global oceanography, particularly the implementation of international and integrated global ocean observing systems.
Website provides background information, training and education, ocean oberservations,
cruise information, products, and job opportunities.
U.S. Coast Guard ice breakers
Includes Antarctic Support Associates icebreaker NATHANIEL PALMER.
NOAA Ocean Explorer Technology
This section of the Ocean Explorer Web site highlights the technologies that make today's explorations possible.
These include numerous vessels, submersibles, diving technologies, and observation tools
that allow the explorers to examine, record, and analyze the mysteries of the oceans.
Research and Survey vessels.
Provides information and links to the NOAA Atlantic and Pacific Fleets, as well as the Atlantic and Pacific Decommissioned Ships, to NOAA Fleet Information and Support, and to related sites.
Ocean Explorer Technology Page
Highlights the numerous vessels, submersibles, diving technologies, and observation tools utilized on NOAA ocean explorations.
University of Delaware
This is the definitive listing of virtually all major research ship schedules.
Hole Oceanographic Institution* -
Provides information for ships, underwater vehicles, including the submersible ALVIN, the National Deep Submergence Facility, instruments and tools used to sample the ocean, observing systems, and cruise planning.
National Science Foundation RIDGE Program*
Studies of the Mid-Ocean Ridge system.
Linking sites to the Ridge program,
including the Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics (IGPP).
NODC Satellite Oceanography Group
The primary goal of the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) satellite group is to provide scientific stewardship of satellite-derived oceanographic datasets and analyses.
OSCAR: Ocean Surface Current Analyses-
Presents viewable real-time ocean surface currents derived from satellite
altimeter and scatterometer data.
Satellite Altimetry - European Remote-Sensing Satellite page includes discussion
of satellite altimetry and links to oceanographic and geophysical uses of data.
Pages are from the Delft University of Technology Institute of Earth-Oriented
(Gulf Stream studies)
Global Seafloor Topography from Satellite Altimetry
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) measured and estimated global seafloor topography information page.
See also the NGDC measured and estimated global seafloor topography images page, last updated November 1, 1997.
Satellite Altimetry - NOAA
Laboratory for satellite altimetry.
Satellite Altimetry - Sea-Level analysis*using the European Remote-Sensing Satellite altimeter from the
European Space Agency.
Satellite Altimetry - Topex/Poseidon
oceanographic satellite home page.
Naval Postgraduate School.
This is an educational page showing images of phytoplankton production, sea-surface
temperature, wave height, sea-level change, etc., all derived from satellite
Scripps Satellite Oceanography
Provides information on physical and satellite oceanography at Scripps, including information about the TOPEX/POSEIDON altimeter.
Satellite system determining ocean color, nutrients, temperature, etc.
SeaWiFS Image Gallery at NASA.
Center for Sponsored Coastal Ocean Research
Partner in the Ocean Color project.
University of Maine Satellite Oceanography Data Lab
Provides research activities, satellite images, current projects, and other links to the Satellite Oceanography Data Lab.
Sea Surface Temperature
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Scientific Visualization Studio (SVS) SeaStar SeaWiFS Sea Surface Temperature (SST)
Also see Data Sets relating to SeaWiFS from the SVS, including SeaStar/SeaWiFS, Chlorophyll, False Color, and Monthly Land Reflectance.
Sea Surface Temperature information.
Navy Fleet Numerical Oceanographic Center.
Includes archival information that traces evolution of recent El Niño, ice information,
and other parameters.
Note: users might need to add an exception to gain access to the Public website.
Sea Surface Temperature (SST) Charts
Near real-time SST Charts from the National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service (NESDIS).
Both regional and global extent. Black and white contour and colorized contour maps available.
NOAA Sea Surface Temperature (SST) page
The SST page is one of many NOAA Science on a Sphere (SOS) Ocean Datasets.
Also provided by SOS is the SST Anomaly page, ranging from April 2005 - May 2007.
Atlantic Ocean, Gulf of Mexico, Chesapeake Bay regional images*
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
Including Gulf Stream and archive for look-back ability.
Sea Surface Temperature global images*
Daily images provided by the University of Wisconsin Space Science and Engineering Center.*
Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) Earth Observation Data Acquisition and Analysis Service (NEODAAS) SST Data page*
SeaWiFS and Ocean-Color Research
European Space Agency (ESA) Earthnet Online SeaWiFS Mission page*
In conjunction with NASA SeaWiFS, "the scientific and technical experience gained in the SeaWiFS mission
have been valuable preparation for the design and application of the Earth Observing System's MODerate resolution
Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instruments, as well as future sensors such as the National Polar-orbiting
Operational Environmental Satellite System (NPOESS) Visible/Infrared Imager/Radiometer Suite (VIIRS)."
International Ocean-Colour Coordinating Group (IOCCG)*
An affiliated program of the Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR), the main objectives of the IOCCG
are to develop consensus and synthesis at the world scale in the subject area of satellite ocean colour.
The website provides links to Ocean-Colour news, Training and Education programs, Ocean-Colour Bibliography,
Publications and Reports, Workshops and Conferences, Data and Software,
Employment Opportunities, Programs and Institutions, and Ocean-Colour Images.
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Scientific Visualization Studio (SVS) SeaWiFS Biosphere Animation
Also see Data Sets relating to SeaWiFS from the SVS, including SeaStar/SeaWiFS,
Chlorophyll, False Color, and Monthly Land Reflectance.
NASA SeaWiFS Project Homepage
Sea-viewing Wide Field-of-view Sensor (SeaWiFS).
Provides access to Announcements, Spacecraft Information, Receiving Stations, Teacher's Resources, Mission Operations,
SeaWiFS Globe Design Tool, and Remote Sensing of Coral Reefs.
Project Information Page
This page provides a list of links where background information on various aspects of the SeaWiFS Project can be found,
including ocean color, nutrients, temperature, etc.
NASA SeaWiFS Project Image Gallery
Links to other Goddard Groups involved in Ocean Color Research
NASA Ocean Color Web Homepage
Includes data access, ocean color feature and recent topics and imagery of interest to the OceanColor community, as well as support services.
NOAA Sea-viewing Wide Field-of-view Sensor (SeaWiFS) Project page
The SeaWiFS Project page is one of many NOAA Science on a Sphere (SOS) Ocean Datasets.
University of Dundee Plymouth Marine Laboratory SeaWiFS Page*
As part of the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)
Earth Observation Data Acquisition and Analysis Service (NEODAAS),
the Dundee Satellite Receiving Station receives and archives the data from SeaWiFS.
Also available is the NEODAAS Ocean Colour Data page.*
Tides and Sea Levels
National Tidal Centre*
Formerly The National Tidal Facility of Australia (NTFA) operated by Flinders University of South Australia,
The National Tidal Centre (NTC) specialises in sea level monitoring and analysis for the purpose of deriving trends
in absolute sea level and producing national tide predictions, tide streams and related information.
Immediate graphical and tabular water level and meteorological data from the National Ocean Service (NOS) water level stations
located along the projected path of severe storms such as hurricanes.
and Tide Prediction*
Hyperlinks to online tide predictor Websites and tide prediction software.
Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS)
Oceanographic Products and Services Division of the National Ocean Service of NOAA. This office is the source
of tide predictions for the United States, tidal current information, real-time P.O.R.T.S information,
and tidal bench mark information.
Historic Tide Data
CO-OPS Verified Station selection by state.
NOAA, National Ocean Service, Center for Operational Oceanographic Products
Includes the CO-OPS
Tide and Current Glossary in PDF format
Water Level Tidal Predictions
Developed for the United States by NOS, provides tidal prediction information from over 3,000 stations from 2004-present.
Our Restless Tides
An explanation of the causes of tides by the National Ocean Service.
Maryland Tide Finder*
Provides tidal information for the Chesapeake Bay, Maryland Ocean Side, and the Potomac River.
Hosted by the Department of Natural Resources, University of Maryland.
Massachusetts Tide Charts*
Tidal information by region in the state provided by the MA Marine Trades Association.
Sea Levels Online
Tracks sea level trends from a National and global perspective.
UK Hydrographic Office (UKHO)
Tidal predictions for over 6,000 ports worldwide.
Tidal predictions for the current and consecutive following 6 days are provided free of charge.
Tide predictions for locations around the globe.
University of Colorado Sea Level Change*
Provides data and plots, documentation, calibration, presentations, bibliography and related links concerning sea level change.
University of Hawai'i Sea Level Center (UHSLC)*
UHSLC is a research facility of the University of Hawaii/NOAA Joint Institute for Marine and Atmospheric
Research (JIMAR) within the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST).
UHSLC provides three online databases:
the Research Quality Database*,
the GLOSS/CLIVAR "Fast Delivery" Database*,
and the JCOMM Sea Level Program in the Pacific Map Database*.
WWW Tide and Current Predictor*
Generates predictions for harmonic tide and current conditions. Features links to related resources.
Hosted by the Department of Biological Sciences,University of South Carolina.
Tropical Ocean Atmosphere (TAO) Project Home Page
TAO observing array in the Tropical Pacific.
NOAA/NCDC Tropical Ocean Global Atmosphere (TOGA) Project Home Page
The TOGA program is a major component of the World Climate Research Program (WCRP) aimed
specifically at the prediction of climate phenomena on time scales of months to years.
NOAA/NESDIS TOGA COARE Home Page
Provides information about The Tropical Ocean Global Atmosphere Coupled Ocean Atmosphere
Response Experiment (TOGA COARE) datasets and direct access to data centers.
Deep-ocean Assessment and Reporting of Tsunamis (DART) Homepage
On the NOAA-National Data Buoy Center (NDBC) website, this page offers
background and system information for the DART and DART II Projects.
Also of interest are the Tsunami Detection Algorithm and
DART Data Archive.
FEMA Tsunami Information
Useful information on how to protect oneself, as well as FEMA tsunami publications in PDF format.
Tsunami Information Center (ITIC)*
Hosted by NOAA-NWE, ITIC is located in Honolulu and was established in 1965
by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of the United Nations.
Tsunami Hazard Mitigation Program (NTHMP)
Real-time data received from the tsunami early warning network of moored buoys
NOAA-NWS Tsunami Warning Centers
NOAA operates two tsunami warning centers in the United States:
Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC)
Area-of-responsibility (AOR) consists of Hawaii, other U.S. interests in the Pacific Basin, countries participating in the
Tsunami Warning System in the Pacific, and Indian Ocean and Caribbean Sea countries.
West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center (WCATWC)
AOR consists of Canadian coastal regions, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and the ocean coasts of all U.S. States except Hawaii.
Excellent Links and References page to Tsunami, Earthquake,
and Regional Seismic Networks available from WCATWC site.
NOAA-PMEL Center for Tsunami Research
The NOAA Center for Tsunami Research, located at NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory in Seattle, WA, focuses on an integrated approach to improving tsunami warning and mitigation.
The website provides useful features regarding research, education, and useful links, including:
Deep-Ocean Assemssment and Reporting of Tsunamis (DART),
Recent and Historical Tsunami Events and Relevant Data,
NOAA Tsunami Website
NOAA has primary responsibility for providing tsunami warnings to the Nation,
and a leadership role in tsunami observations and research.
Provides warning information, hazard assessment, education, animations, and
Pacific Disaster Center*
Managed by the University of Hawaii, provides disaster updates and news primarily for
the Pacific and Indian Ocean regions, Hawaii, and Alaska.
Pacific Tsunami Museum FAQ*
An informative FAQ page that discusses tsunamis in layperson's terminology.
Concentrates on the Hawaiian Islands.
Sea Level Stations
A Tsunami-Focused Data Sharing Framework est. by the NOAA Integrated Data & Environmental Applications (IDEA) Center,
provides sea level station metadata through Google Earth or a Geographic Information System (GIS) viewer.
Tsunami Use-Case Implementation Documents
Data and Information at the National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
Provides information regarding Inundation Grids, DART Data, a Global Tsunami Database,
as well as images, maps, and other publications.
The NOAA/WDC Tsunami Event Database contains information regarding what causes tsunamis, event locations,
and the magnitude and intensity of tsunamis.
The NOAA/WDC Tsunami Runup Database contains information on locations where tsunami effects occurred.
Tsunami Research Center (TRC)*
The University of Southern California TRC is actively involved with all aspects of tsunami research, including
inundation field surveys, numerical and analytical modeling, and hazard assessment, mitigation and planning.
Tsunami Society International (TSI)*
Website for TSI and its electronic, international journal "Science of Tsunami Hazards" (STH).
Links to tsunami sites at NOAA, various other government agencies, and universities.
Tsunami Warning and Education Act
Public Law 109-424 passed by 109th Congress (2nd Session) on December 20, 2006.
Also available in PDF format.
Pathfinder from 2005 maintained by the University of Washington Department of Earth and Space Sciences.
Associated with their Tsunami! website.
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) page providing links to U.S. government and non-U.S. government sites.
U.S. Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning System (IOTWS) Program
Effective Aug. 2005 - March 2008 as a result of the Tsunami of December 26, 2004, this program served
as the U.S. contribution to the UNESCO Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission effort
to foster the tsunami warning capacity of Indian Ocean countries.
Tsunami and Earthquake Research at the USGS
Up-to-date site provides information regarding current and past events, reference, research studies, and tsunami animations.
Part of the USGS Western Coastal and Marine Geology website providing
information regarding multidisciplinary
scientific research in the coastal and offshore areas of the Western U.S., Alaska, Hawaii, and other US Pacific Islands;
and in other waterways of the United States.
WHOI - Tsunami: An Interactive Guide That Could Save Your Life
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Tsunami website, provides survival tips and animations, survivor stories,
research, and technology, including Coastal Barriers and "Tsunami Proof" Archiecture.
Waves and Swells
Coastal Data Information Program (CDIP)*
California Swell Models provided by Scripps Institution of Oceanography.
Global and Regional Ocean Wave
Prediction Charts (WW3)
Global Ensemble Ocean Wave Prediction Charts (WW3 Ensemble)
Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center, U.S. Navy. Provides forecasts out to 120 hours.
Significant Wave Height Map*
NOAA-NWS Wavewatch III Page
NWS Environmental Modeling Center
NOAA/NCEP Wavewatch III Plots*
Worldwide wave predictions (Scripps).
NOAA Ocean Prediction Center
Marine forecast products including Regional and High Seas Text and Graphic Products
for western Atlantic and eastern Pacific Oceans.
Ocean Wave Energy*
Outer Continental Shelf Alternative Energy and Alternate Use
Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Information Center.
Surfing Information Center
Links to surfing Web sites worldwide.
World Ocean Circulation Experiment. A worldwide cooperative experiment to observe
the world ocean circulation and currents. Observations made between 1990 and 1997.
British Oceanographic Data Centre (BODC) UK WOCE Page*
UK WOCE was hosted by the Southampton Oceanography Centre (SOC). Provides data sets and links.
See also BODC WOCE Sea Level Data Assembly Centre (DAC)*
and BODC Tidal Constants* pages.
Buoy Group's Deep Water Archive*
Oregon State University's Buoy Group provides an online, searchable collection of current meter records and other types of time series from deep water moorings, with approx. 2,000 current WOCE and 3,000 non-WOCE records.
NODC WOCE Global Data Resource Page
Provides WOCE background, inventories, bibliography, data, and summaries.
WOCE-CLIVAR Subsurface Float Data Assembly Center* and Original Homepage*
WHOI-CICOR (Cooperative Institute for Climate and Ocean Research).
"Man stands with bowed head in the presence of nature's
visible grandeurs, such as towering mountains, precipices, or icebergs, forests
of immense trees, grand rivers, or waterfalls. He realizes the force of
waves that can sweep away light-houses or toss an ocean steamer about like a
cork. In a vessel floating on the Gulf Stream one sees nothing of the
current and knows nothing but what experience tells him; but to be anchored
in its depths far out of the sight of land, and to see the mighty torrent rushing
past at a speed of miles per hour, day after day and day after day, one begins
to think that all the wonders of the earth combined can not equal this one river
in the ocean." John Elliott Pillsbury in the introduction to his 1891 classic
work, "The Gulf Stream."
Back to Index