|You are Here: Library Home > Research Tools > Subject Guides and Bibliographies > WINDandSEA
WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide
Topics: Marine Archaeology thru NOAA, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Note: Many of these links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.
Cultural Heritage MPAs - from the National Marine Protected Areas Center
Institute of Nautical Archaeology* - Conducts research with the Nautical Archaeology Program at Texas A&M University
"Maritime Heritage" page of NOAA's National Marine Sanctuary Program
Monitor National Marine Sanctuary - Protects the wreck of the Civil War ironclad USS Monitor
Nordic Underwater Archaeology*
- Archaeology in the Baltic Sea.
North American Society for Oceanic History*
Smith's Master Index to Maritime Museum Websites* - A privately maintained site with links
to many museums and maritime heritage information.
"Surveys & Wrecks" page of NOAA's Office of Coast Survey
Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary - Protects over 100 shipwrecks in northwest Lake Huron, spanning a century of Great Lakes shipping history.
Wisconsin's Great Lakes Shipwrecks* - From University of Wisconsin Sea Grant and Wisconsin Historical Society
of marine biology* - Organized along many subject lines.
Developed by State University of New York at Stony Brook.
marine biology and Aquatic Sciences* - Links to many sources from Stanford
marine biology terms* - From State University of New York at Stony Brook.
Marine Biology (requires subscription)* - An international journal on life in oceans and coastal waters
Web* - Educational resource from the State University of New York at Stony Brook.
ABC's Seabird Program* - from the American Bird Conservancy; addresses most pressing threats to birds that spend part of their lives at sea
Birds of the World on Postage Stamps*
- a private site, but has a truly beautiful collection of stamps illustrating
bird species from around the world. Many marine birds are shown on
these stamps. Site is searchable by species and country.
"Marine Birds" page of the National Biological Information Infrasture (NBII) program of the U.S. Geological Survey
Seabirds, Forage Fish and Marine Ecosystems Research - A U.S. Geological Survey marine ecosystem site with emphasis
on sea birds such as Puffins, Murrelets, Gulls, etc. This site is
devoted to seabirds and their environment.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service's Division of Bird Habitat Conservation - Information on conservation of migratory bird habitat, including waterbirds
Marine and Anadromous Fish - From NOAA Fisheries Office of Protected Resources
"Marine Fishes" page of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) program of the U.S. Geological Survey
See also: "Fish" section of WINDandSEA
Marine Invertebrates and Plants - From NOAA Fisheries, Office of Protected Resources
Marine Invertebrates of Hawai'i*
"Marine Invertebrates" page of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) program of the U.S. Geological Survey
Annelida page of Tree of Life Web Project - Information on segmented worms, found in the deepest marine sediments and also in regular soils, from the Tree of Life Web Project, a collabortive effort of biolgoists and nature enthusiasts from around the world
Phylum Annelida* - from University of Michigan Museum of Zoology's Animal Diversity web site
Ascidian Home Page* - Information on ascidians of the United States from California State University at Fullerton.
Includes links to many issues of Ascidian News.
bibliography* - Searchable bibliography from G. Iazzetti at the
University of Naples.
Animalia > Cnidaria from BIODAC (bank of digital Images for teaching biology)* - From the University of Ottowa.
Phylum Cnidaria* - from University of Michigan Museum of Zoology Animal Diversity web site
Corals: See: "Coral Reefs" section of WINDandSEA - (Scroll up to top of "Coral Reefs" section)
The World of Copepods* - From The Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
World of Copepods (Introductory Page)* - from World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS)
Crustacean gallery* - Includes photos and discussions of biology, habitats, etc. of various
types of crustaceans ranging from cumaceans and copepods to lobsters and
large crabs. This is a very informative site established by the Museum
of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia.
The Crustacean Society* - from the Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Journal of Crustacean Biology (required subscription)* - from The Crustacean Society, via BioOne
Class Echinoidea* -
Information on heart urchins, sand dollars, and sea urchins from the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology
Echinoderm Links* - From the California Academy of Sciences. Starfish, sand dollars,
crinoids, holothurians, etc.
Phylum Echinodermata* - from University of Michigan Museum of Zoology's Animal Diversity web site
Cephalopods* - From
Dalhousie University. Octopi and squid, but not the nautiloids.
Cephalopods at the National Museum of Natural History* - Includes The "In Search of Giant Squid" on-line exhibit, "Squid Links," video and imagery of mystery squid previously taken in four ocean basins: Atlantic Ocean, Indian Ocean, Gulf of Mexico, and Pacific Ocean, and bibliographic information.
Conchologists of America, Inc.* - Society for seashell enthusiasts
Discovery Channel Feature: Chasing Giants: On the Tail of the Giant Squid (DVD information)*
"First-ever Observations of a Live Giant Squid in the Wild"* - by T. Kubodera and K. Mori, Proceedings of the Royal Society B 272 (2005): 2583-2586
The Giant Octopus Web Page* - From Alaska Pacific University
Hardy's Internet Guide to Marine Gastropods* - Illustrated catalog of gastropods, with an index of common names
Illinois Natural History Survey Mollusk Collection* - From the Institute of Natural Resource Sustainability at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
In Search of the Giant Squid - From the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History and NASA Ocean Planet.
NOAA Investigates Giant Deep-Sea ‘Mystery Squid' - December 20, 2001 2001 NOAA news release
Zebra Mussel Page* - From the Wayne State University Dept. of Physiology; includes reserch, publications, glossary, bibliography, slide slow, and more.
Phylum Porifera - from University of Michigan Museum of Zoology's Animal Diversity web site
The Sponge Guide*
- a picture guide to Caribbean sponges
American Cetacean Society Homepage* - Education resources, whale watching, and more
"Bottlenose Dolphins" page from SeaWorld*
Cetacean Society International*
- includes electronic newsletter Whales Alive! and many links to
other cetacean sites.
International Whaling Commission* - An international body dedicated to
managing and preserving the Earth's whale population. Conducts studies
of whale populations and sets quotas for catch.
Marine Mammal Commission - Created under Title II of the Marine Mammal Protection Act, focuses on protection and conservation of marine mammals.
"Marine Mammals" page of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) program of the U.S. Geological Survey
National Marine Mammal Laboratory (NOAA Fisheries) - Conducts research on marine mammals important to the mission of NOAA Fisheries, with particular attention to issues related to marine mammals off the coasts of California, Oregon, Washington and Alaska.
Oregon State University Marine Mammal Institute* - Multi-disciplinary facility to combine research efforts on preservation of critical habitats of target species, and understanding of marine mammals' interactions with the environment and human activities affecting them.
"Polar Bears" page from SeaWorld*
Society for Marine Mammalogy* - Dedicated to the study of marine mammals. Includes information on publications, careers, student resources, and conferences.
U.S. Navy "Marine Mammal Protection" page - Information on sonar history and use, marine mammals and sound, stranding events, and Navy's marine mammal protection efforts.
WhaleNet at Wheelock College* - This page has many links to other marine mammal sites and to oceanography sites.
WHOI Marine Mammal Center - From Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI); interdisciplinary research affecting the conservation of marine mammals and other marine animals such as turtles
Marine Invertebrates and Plants - From NOAA Fisheries, Office of Protected Resources
"Marine Plants" page of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) program of the U.S. Geological Survey
Cyanosite, A Webserver for Cyanobacterial Research* - From Purdue University
Cycling Through the Food Web* - From the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences, includes information on the microbial loop and ocean food chain
Vibrio Vulnificus & Vibrio Parahaembyticus - Food safety advice from the Food and Drug Administration on hazards posed by Vibrio pathogens sometimes transmitted by molluscan shellfish
Dinoflagellates* - From the University of Calgary, includes discussion of biology, many microscopic images, and links to information on the organisms
that cause red tides.
Harmful Algae - From NOAA's National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NCCOS)
Biotoxins* - From Government of Western Australia's Department of Fisheries
Mote Marine Laboratory's "Phytoplankton Ecology" page*
Mote Marine Laboratory's "Florida Red Tide" page* - historic conditions along south Florida coast
Pfiesteria page from the University of Maryland Sea Grant Office* - All that one
could hope to discover about Pfiesteria including bibliographies, links
to recent news articles, and links to many other Pfiesteria sites.
Pfiesteria Research at the Center for Applied Aquatic Ecology of North Carolina State University* - Pfiesteria Biohazard Research Laboratory.
Poison Plant Patch: Red Tide* - From Nova Scotia Museum; includes eyewitness account of death by toxic algal poisoning of member of crew
of HM DISCOVERY while surveying in the Puget Sound region of Washington
Toxic "Red Tide" Populations in the Western Gulf of Maine: Sources, Transport, and Nutrient Environment*
- Information from the U.S. Geological Survey's Woods Hole Science Center on a project funded by the Regional Marine Research Program for the Gulf of Maine
U.S. Food and Drug Administration's "Seafood" page
- Information on the FDA's safety program for fish and fishery products under various laws and regulations.
Mangroves: Forests of the Tide* - National Geographic Magazine article, February 2007
Mangrove Swamps - From U.S. EPA Wetlands Program
Sanctuary Resources: Florida's Mangroves - From Florida Keys National marine Sanctuary
World Atlas of Mangroves* - information on atlas promoting the conservation of mangrove ecosystems, a joint initiative of the FAO and other organizations
Diatom home page* - from Biology Department, Indiana University.
Emiliana huxleyi Home Page* - All that one could hope to wish to know about
this particular species of phytoplankton.
Peter J.S. Franks Homepage* - Phytoplankton research from a professor of Biological Oceanography at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Johnson's Seagrass (Halophilia johnsonii) - Information on the threatened status, taxonomy, habitat, etc. of this unique seagrass, from the NOAA Fisheries Office of Protected Resources
Seagrass Beds - Information on the threats to and importance of seagrass in the marine environment, from the Gulf Islands National Seashore web site of the National Park Service
Seagrass Ecosystems Research
Laboratory* - From Florida International University;
primary emphasisis is on seagrass studies and ecology of Florida Bay Ecosystem.
Seagrasses* - General information, projects, publications, and a Florida Seagrass Conservation Information System, from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission's Fish and Wildlife Research Institute
Seagrasses* - General and educational information on seagrasses from the Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Seagrasses - Seagrass Information and Redfish Bay State Scientific Area (RBSSA)* - Information on the importance of seagrass meadows in Texas bays and estuaries, from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
AlgaeBase* - Database from the National University of Ireland, Galway, with information on terrestrial, marine and freshwater algae, with seaweed data being the most complete
International Phycological Society
of Phycology (requires subscription)* - international journal of algal research
Medline Plus Herbs and Supplements: Seaweed, Kelp, Bladderwrack (Fucus vesiculosus) - Information on uses and safety issues for seaweeds when used as a supplement, from the National Library of Medicine
The Phycological Society
of America* - promotes study of algae and phycological research
Seaweeds page of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary - General information, research, list, and images of seaweeds in this national marine sanctuary
"Marine Reptiles" page of the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) program of the U.S. Geological Survey
Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research* - Site has searchable bibliography
of over 5,000 entries; from the University of Florida
Checklist of Florida Crocodilians* - From the Florida Museum of Natural History, Division of Herpetology
Marine Turtles - From NOAA Fisheries, Office of Protected Resources
Sea Snakes* - Information from Scubadoc's Diving Medicine Online.
Sea Turtle Information - From the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, North Florida Field Office
Sea Turtles* - From the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute
Marine Conservation Biology Institute* - Works to advance the science of marine conservation biology and secure protection for ocean ecosystems
Society for Conservation Biology's Marine Section* - Section of the Society for Conservation Biology dedicated to advancing the science and practice of conserving the Earth's marine biological diversity.
Coastal Program of
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service - concentrates on 11 high-priority
GLOBEC Homepage (Global Ocean Ecosystem Dynamics)* - A project of the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme
to help understand the marine ecosystem response to global climate change.
Marine Ecology (requires subscription)* - Journal which discusses the structure and dynamics of marine benthic and pelagic ecosystems, and the links between the ecology and evolution of marine organisms.
Marine Ecology Progress Series (requires subscription) - Journal which covers all aspects of marine ecology, fundamental and applied (articles published more than 4 years ago are open access).
Marine Ecosystems and Management* - Global news and analysis newsletter on marine ecosystem-based management.
The State of the Bay: A Characterization of the Galveston Bay Ecosystem*
- a characterization of the marine ecology of the bay.
Marine Geology (requies subscription) - Journal which reports on developments in marine geology, geochemistry, and geophysics.
Marine Geology: Research Beneath the Sea - An introduction
to marine geology from the United States Geological Survey (USGS).
NOAA National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) "Marine Geology & Geophysics" page - Scientific stewardship, products, and services for sea floor and lakebed data.
This Dynamic Earth: The Story of Plate Tectonics - A
short textbook on plate tectonics from the United States Geological
U.S. Geological Survey's Coastal and Marine Geology Program
EXXON VALDEX Oil Spill Trustee Council* - Web site is the definitive source for information about the Exxon Valdez oil spill and its aftermath. The Council was formed to oversee restoration of the injured ecosystem through the use of the $900 million civil settlement.
Marine Pollution* - educational page from the Bridge Program
Marine Pollution Bulletin (requires subscription) - Documents marine pollution, its measurement and analysis, and intelligent use of marine resources.
NOAA Damage Assessment, Remediation, and Restoration Program (DARRP)
NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Office's "Office of Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Damage Assessment and Restoration" page
NOAA Marine Debris Program
NOAA Office of Response and Restoration
Texas Automated Buoy System (TABS)*
- From the Texas General Land Office and Texas A&M. University; This
system monitors offshore wind and currents and helps predict the trajectory
of oil and chemical spills.
U.S. Coast Guard - Missions - Protection of Natural Resources - select "Marine Pollution, Education, Prevention, Response, and Enforcement" link
U.S. EPA "Implementation of Marine Pollution Treaties and International Agreements" page
U.S. EPA "Marine Debris" page
U.S. EPA "Ocean Regulatory Programs" page - Ocean dumping, dredged matter, and marine, ocean, and vessel discharges
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority* - information on the care and development of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park
IUCN Marine Programme, Marine Protected Areas*
MPA Global: A Database of the World's Marine Protected Areas*
MPA News - international news and analysis newsletter*
National Marine Protected Areas Center - Web site of the National Marine Protected Areas Center, managed jointly by the Departments of Commerce and the Interior, which provides information on the development of a national system of marine protected areas (MPAs) for the U.S., as required by Executive Order 13158.
National Marine Sanctuaries - homepage of NOAA's National Marine Sanctuary Program
Protect Planet Ocean* - global collaboration between ocean conservation partners to provide best information on MPAs to a global audience.
The Science of Marine Reserves* - booklets by the Partnership for Interdisciplinary Studies of Coastal Oceans (PISCO)
WWF, Our Solutions: Marine Protected Areas* - WWF Global Marine Programme web site on their work on MPA networks and management
American National Standards Institute* - promotes voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment systems
BIPM - International Bureau of Weights and Measures* - carries out measurement-related research and works to ensure worldwide uniformity of measurements
International Organization for Standardization* - developer and publisher of international standards on a variety of subjects in technical fields relevant to business, government, and society
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standards and Technical Regulations - Standards products and services from NIST, an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce
Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) Metrology Laboratory - U.S. Department of Energy facility operated by UT Battelle, which works to ensure adequacy of standards and measurement processes used in calibration of measuring and test equipment used at ORNL
Standards.gov - information on U.S. Federal agency use of standards for regulatory and procurement purposes, from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
NOAA Homepage - Homepage of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce
NOAA Browser - hierarchically arranged browsing guide to NOAA's organization, with links to over 500 web sites of NOAA offices, programs, projects,
NOAA Corporate Finance and Administrative Services Offices - links to information on administrative, financial, and related functions handled by NOAA
NOAA History - Profiles of NOAA's origins and accomplishments, notable personnel, NOAA's work with the Armed Forces, NOAA's tools of the trade, and art and poetry from NOAA's archives.
NOAA in Your State and Territory - NOAA programs or activities in or focused on your state or territory
NOAA Organizations - Links to web sites of NOAA's line offices and staff offices
NOAA Photo Galleries
- links to NOAA photo web sites both great and small.
NOAA Regional Collaboration - NOAA initiative to integrate program activities to address NOAA priorities at both national and regional scales
NOAA Staff Directory
- Know the name of a NOAA employee? Find contact information (Non-NOAA users: scroll to Public Version button).
NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) - also known as NOAA Fisheries Service
NOAA National Ocean Service (NOS)
NOAA National Weather Service (NWS)
NOAA Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR) - also known as NOAA Research
NOAA Office of Program Planning and Integration (PPI)
NOAA Organizations - Scroll to "Staff Offices"
Office of Communications& External Affairs
Office of Education
Office of International Affairs
Office of Marine and Aviation Operations - includes NOAA Corps information
"It is perhaps a more fortunate destiny to have a taste for collecting