| ||||||||||
| You are Here: Library Home >
Research Tools > Subject Guides and
Bibliographies > WINDandSEA
|
||||||||||
WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide |
||||||||||
|
WINDandSEA Index | Previous page | Next page | Teachers and Students Corner | NOAA Photosites | Government agenciesAgencies with Environmental InformationCanada - Environment Canada - the Canadian weather service, environmental protection agency, and environmental research organizationhttp://www.ec.gc.ca/ Canada - Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the oceanic agency of the Canadian government
The National Archives - preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) is the descendant
of the Defense Mapping Agency/National Imagery and Mapping Agency. NGA develops imagery and map-based intelligence solutions for
U. S. national defense, homeland security and safety of navigation
National Institute of Standards and Technology - an agency of the U.S. Department of Commere
National Science Foundation - supports environmental research through many programs
National Sea Grant - a partnership between the nation's universities and NOAA - links to information
about Sea Grant programs, history of Sea Grant, publications, the National Sea Grant Library, etc.
Office of Naval Research
Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex and research organization
United States Army Corps of Engineers - responsible for investigating, developing, and maintaining the
nation's water and related environmental resources
United States Coast Guard - a military branch of the United States involved in maritime law, mariner assistance,
and search and rescue
United States Environmental Protection Agency
United States Federal Emergency Management Agency - flood data, flood plain maps, etc. as well as many joint publications and programs with NOAA
United States Fish and Wildlife Service, U. S. Department of the Interior
United States Geological Survey, U. S. Department of the Interior - many ocean, coastal, and mapping programs
United States Geological Survey Coastal and Marine Geology Program
United States Geological Survey Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center - satellite
images of the Earth and aerial photos of the U.S.
Links to Federal and State Government Agencies and InformationFederal
Register - the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and
organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
Federal statistics - official statistical information
produced by the Federal Government from more than 100 Federal agencies
Government Printing Office - the Federal Government's primary centralized resource for producing,
procuring, distributing, and preserving the official information products for all three branches of the Federal Government, as well as
the official publications of Congress, the White House and other Federal agencies, and the courts.
National Technical Information Service - the nation's largest central
source for government-sponsored scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information.
NTIS has more than 3 million titles in its collection.
The U. S. Code
U.S. Office of Personnel Management
- Hiring, firing, retiring...
USA.gov - U.S. Government Information by topic
Great LakesBinational.net - a collaboration between Environment Canada and the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency to provide a single window on joint Great Lakes programs. Access management plans, State of the Great Lakes reports, etc.
Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory (GLERL) of the National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Great Lakes Information Network - maintained by the Great Lakes Commission
Great Lakes National Program Office of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System - information on the maritime
route from the Great Lakes to the Atlantic Ocean
Great Lakes Science Center of the U. S. Geological Survey
Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement between Canada and the United States (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Maritime History of the Great Lakes from the Halton Hills
Public Library in Ontario
Our Great Lakes from Environment Canada and the
Environmental Protection Agency
History of Oceanic and Atmospheric ScienceNOAA Historical Image Collections - thousands of photographs and images of
operations of the Coast and Geodetic Survey, National Weather Service, and National Marine Fisheries Service/NOAA Fisheries Service
NOAA History Page - writings and collections from the Coast and Geodetic Survey,
National Marine Fisheries Service/NOAA Fisheries, and National Weather Service. Includes institutional histories
and also pertinent writings concerning the atmospheric and oceanic sciences from such luminaries as Benjamin Franklin and
Louis Agassiz. This site has diaries, biographical sketches, speeches, autobiographies, and personal accounts of individuals
associated with the above bureaus as well as links to historical image collections.
Biographical InformationAbbe, Cleveland - a highly respected civilian meteorologist who worked for the Signal Service, and later the Weather Bureau. Essentially, he was considered the expert on forecasting.http://www.history.noaa.gov/giants/abbe.html Agassiz, Alexander - biographical sketch by Sir John Murray
Agassiz, Louis - picture and biographical note from the
University of California Museum of Paleontology
Audubon, John James - biography of the naturalist and painter
Bache, Alexander Dallas - eulogy by Professor Joseph Henry
Baird, Spencer Fullerton - the first United States Commissioner
of Fisheries, appointed by President Ulysses S. Grant in 1871
Bigelow, Henry Bryant -
biography of a founder of oceangraphy. This article is made available by the Libraries at University of Nebraska - Lincoln.
Carson, Rachel - picture and biographical sketch of the great ecologist: select
Biography
Davidson, George - biographical sketch by Charles G. Yale
Ferrel, William - memorial articles and works by Ferrel,
an American meteorologist and astronomer who worked on the theory of tides
Benjamin Franklin: Glimpses of the Man from the Franklin Institute
Goode, George Brown - biographical sketch by David Starr Jordan
Hassler, Ferdinand Rudolph - the first
Superintendent of the U.S. Coast Survey
Henry, Joseph - first Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
and a major personality in the development and evolution of American science. This is a comprehensive site that includes a
special section on Joseph Henry's contribution to the formation of a national weather service.
Hooke, Robert - English biologist, early microscopist, physicist,
inventor, and experimental scientist
Hopper, Grace Murray - the great U. S. Navy computer
scientist
Kane, Elisha Kent - nineteenth century American naval officer and explorer
who captured the imagination of the American public with his quest for the Open Polar Sea. A Master's Thesis from the University
of Texas at Austin.
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive - biographies,
topics, chronologies, bibliography. Biographies of hundreds of mathematicians including Benjamin Peirce, Charles Peirce,
William Ferrel, Gauss, and Bessel. The "Mac" is the genuine article as this site has been developed by the School of Mathematical
and Computational Sciences, University of St. Andrews, Scotland.
Peirce, Charles Sanders - arguably the most important of all American philosophers. He had and continues to have a profound
influence on the Philosophy of Science. The Peirce Edition Project, Arisbe, the Peirce Organization, and NOAA sites all have different
thrusts concerning his life and influence on American science.
Reichelderfer, Francis Wilton -
naval aviator, meteorologist, and longest running Director of the U.S. Weather Bureau. Reichelderfer brought modern technology to weather forecasting.
Schott, Charles Anthony - biographical memoir by Cleveland Abbe
Seattle - Chief Seattle of the Northwest coast - many
famous environmental quotes
Tharp, Marie - autobiographical sketch titled "Connect the
Dots: Mapping the Seafloor and Discovering the Mid-ocean Ridge" by the oceanographic cartographer in: Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia
University Twelve Perspectives on the First Fifty Years 1949-1999
Wexler, Harry - one of our nation's greatest meteorologists
Women in Science - biographies from Eastern Illinois University
Women mathematicians - biographies from Agnes Scott College
Women of Science at the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole -
highlights early women marine biologists
General Historical InformationAmerican Historical Association is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical researchhttp://www.historians.org/ American Memory website at the Library of Congress - photos, biographies,
and more. Civil War photos of Dorr-Donn tripod at Chattanooga, topographers at Yorktown, George Wise, Amos Kendall, Levi Woodbury, etc.
Archives II - researcher information for those wishing to access records at
Archives II, the National
Archives and Records Administration facility at College Park, Maryland
Astronautics History from NASA - includes history of development of
meteorological and oceanographic satellites and also provides insight into the evolution of environmental science from space
The Center for History of Physics from American Institute of Physics
Explorers - series on Antarctic explorers from Antarctic Philately
Jefferson's Legacy: A Brief History of The Library of Congress
Sea History: The National Maritime Historical Society
World Wide Web - The
Birthplace of the Web from the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (V. 19, No. 16/Friday, August 16, 1996 of Fermi News)
History of Fisheries and Fisheries ScienceNOAA Fisheries Historical Information -
also includes many photos and a timeline of the National Marine Fisheries Service from 1870 on
West Coast Salmon History
a Canadian Fishing Company history site - see links to a pictorial history of the Gulf of Georgia Cannery (one of the largest
salmon and herring canning facilities in the world), history if fishing in British Columbia, etc.
History of Mapping, Charting, and SurveyingCoast and Geodetic Survey - Bibliography of the Appendices to the
Reports of the Superintendent from 1844 to 1910
Coast and Geodetic Survey Historical Photo Collection - more than 3,000 images covering most aspects of C&GS work
Exploring the West from Monticello: A Perspective in
Maps from Columbus to Lewis and Clark from the University of Virginia - images of maps, discussions of surveying and
navigation instruments, etc.
Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office
of Coast Survey: more than 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day - collection includes some of the nation's
earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans, and Civil War battle maps
Historical maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
at the University of Texas at Austin - historical maps of the world and links to historical maps on other web sites
History of the U.S. Coast Survey
Mississippi River Commission - a short
history from the Army Corps of Engineers concerning the organization responsible for guiding the mapping, charting, and improving the Mississippi River
New York State historical maps dating from the Sixteenth Century to
the Nineteenth Century
The Northwest Coast - A history of the exploration and settlement of
the Northwest Coast including excerpts from works describing Spanish expeditions, Captain Cook's touching at Nootka Sound,
and early fur trading expeditions
Northwest of the West: The Frontier Experience on the Northwest
Coast from the University of Washington
The Southwest United States - Maps of the Pimeria: Early Cartography of
the Southwest - a collection from the University of Arizona detailing the mapping of the American Southwest from the 16th
through 19th Centuries
The United States Coast Survey 1807-1867
- an on-line book that details the science, politics, and Civil War experience of the first science agency in the United States
History of MeteorologyAir Force Weather History
Aircraft Operations Center history
Aristotle's Meteorology - full text translation of Aristotle's
view of meteorology
Arrhenius on global warming - the classic 1896 paper by Nobel
prize-winning Swedish chemist Svante Arrhenius relating the rise in carbon dioxide from fossil fuel burning in the atmosphere
to increasing global temperatures
The Cooperative Weather Observer Program history
Hurricane Research Division history
International Commission on the History of Meteorology - established at the 2001
International Congress of History of Science
Military meteorology bibliography - works developed at the University of North Carolina
National Severe Storms Laboratory (NSSL) History
National Weather Service history
National Weather Service river forecasting - A short history from the Middle Atlantic
River Forecast Center
NOAA Satellite Program History - by Gary Davis of the NESDIS Office of Systems
Development
Storm Prediction Center - a brief history
Tornado Forecasting (history of) - a feature of the
NOAA 200th Anniversary site
United States Early Radio History by Thomas H. White - includes a special section about broadcasting weather
information
War History of the Australian Meteorological Service in the
Royal Australian Air Force April 1941 to July 1946
Weather Forecasting Through the Ages from NASA's Earth Observatory
Weather Prediction and Detection from the NOAA History: A Science Odyssey site
Weather Prediction Center history (formerly the Hydrometeorological Prediction Center)
Weather Satellite History - from the NESDIS Office of Satellite Operations
Weather vanes - a brief history of weather vanes
History of OceanographyChallenger Expedition -
History of the H.M.S. Challenger Expedition, 1872-1876, from the Birch Aquarium of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Challenger
Expedition - History of the H.M.S. Challenger Expedition, 1872-1876, from the Natural History Museum, London
Coast and Geodetic Survey - Bibliography of the Appendices
to the Reports of the Superintendent from 1844 to 1910
Darwin's Origin of Species and Voyage of the Beagle online from the Online Literature Library
Deeper Discovery: History of Oceanography from Woods Hole Oceanographic
Institution
Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office
of Coast Survey: over 35,000 scanned images including some of the Nation's earliest nautical charts, bathymetric maps, city plans,
and Civil War battlefield maps.
History of National Marine Sanctuaries - access a historical timeline,
maritime heritage information, etc.
(NOAA's National Ocean Service)
History of Ocean Exploration from NOAA's Office of Ocean
Exploration and Research
History of Oceanography, 1987-2002 (a cumulative bibliography) - hosted by NOAA's Northeast Fisheries Science Center Library in Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Leuckart -- Diagrams and images of various invertebrates drawn by Rudolph
Leuckart, famous zoologist and parasitologist. These images were produced as Wandtafeln (wall charts) between 1877 and 1892.
Site produced by Woods Hole Marine Biological Laboratory.
Longitude -- English attack on the longitude
problem - site is hosted by the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland
Longitude -- Longitude and the Academie
Royale - history of attempts to discern longitude to the 18th Century. The site is hosted by the School of Mathematics and
Statistics at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.
Oceanography - A history of Coast Guard oceanography associated
with the Coast Guard International Ice Patrol
Tide predicting machines - discussion of Lord Kelvin's tide
prediction machine, William Ferrel's Coast Survey No. 1, the Fischer-Harris Coast Survey No. 2, and tide-predicting
machines from other countries (National Ocean Service's Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services/NOAA)
The Titanic Disaster, Steamship Lanes, and the Establishment of the
Ice Patrol: The 1912 Report of the Hydrographer, U.S. Navy
History of OrganizationsAmerican Microscopical Society - a history of the beginnings of this
organization which was formed in 1878 to promote the use of the compound microscope as a research tool
Scripps Institution of Oceanography - link to a bibliography
on the history of Scripps and the history of oceanography, a bibliography of biographies of ocean scientists, oral histories,
a timeline, etc.
United States Coast
and Geodetic Survey - Volume I, 1807-1867
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution history and legacy - site includes historical
photos, an interactive timeline, etc.
LibrariesNOAA LibrariesNOAA Central Library
Directory of NOAA Libraries - includes email addresses, telephone numbers, links to library sites, descriptions of collections, etc.
Other LibrariesAmerican Geographical Society Library at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
British Library - the national library of the United Kingdom. Includes an environmental information
service, historical manuscripts, a collection of maps, atlases and globes of all parts of the world dating back to the 15th
century, etc.
The Center for Ocean-Atmosphere Prediction studies (COAPS) Library
- The James J. O'Brien Library is located at Florida State University.
Commerce Departmental Library
Federal Depository Libraries: locate a Federal Depository Library in the
U.S. and its territories
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Library of the Department of
Homeland Security
Federal Library Directory compiled by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations David Lubin Memorial Library
Government and Public Libraries - a USA.gov site
Homeland Security Digital Library - sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's
National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security
ipl2: information you can trust (resources by subject) - collections of resources from the Internet Public Library
and the Librarians' Internet Index websites were merged to form ipl2. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and
a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science are involved in developing and maintaining the ipl2.
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution
and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world.
Lib-web-cats - a directory of libraries throughout the world
Marine Biological
Laboratory/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Library contains one of the world's most
complete collections of biological, ecological and oceanographic literature. It is operated
jointly by the Marine Biological Laboratory and the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.
Maritime Knowledge Centre of the International Maritime Organization
Merchant Marine Academy Schuyler Otis Bland Library
National Agricultural Library
of the Department of Agriculture. Source of aquaculture and fisheries information.
National Center for Atmospheric Research Library
National Sea Grant Library is located on the University of Rhode Island campus in Narragansett.
NSGL is the digital library and official archive for NOAA Sea Grant documents.
National Transportation Library, U.S. Department of Transportation
Naval Research Laboratory Ruth H. Hooker Library
Navy Department Library- in addition to naval role in United States' wars contains historical
references to the Coast Survey, explorations, etc.
Northwestern University
Transportation Library
Ohio State University Libraries - catalog includes a lot of NOAA-related material
Pell Marine Science Library at the Graduate
School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island
Pentagon Digital Library
United States Army Corps of Engineers Library
United States Coast Guard Library
United States Environmental Protection Agency National Library Network
United States Fish & Wildlife Service Conservation Library
United States Geological Survey Library - online catalog contains
close to 400,000 records, including many geoscience titles
United States Naval Observatory James Melville Gilliss Library
University of South Carolina Thomas Cooper Library
- catalog includes many NOAA-related titles
Virginia Institute of Marine Science (William J. Hargis, Jr.) Library
LighthousesA Brief History of Lighthouses - a Smithsonian Institution site
Historic Lighthouse Index - a U.S. Coast Guard site
Keepers of the Light - a site of The Lighthouse Preservation Society
The Lighthouse Directory - a site of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Lighthouse Getaway - a really nice lighthouse page with links to photos, history, and local
attractions around many lighthouses of the United States
Mapping and ChartingAeronautical and Nautical ChartsAeronautical Charts - Aeronautical Navigation Products (AeroNav
Products) of the Federal Aviation Administration
Nautical Charts - NOAA Office of
Coast Survey, the Nation's nautical chartmaker.
Careers in Mapping and ChartingCareers in surveying from the Pennsylvania State University College of Engineering Surveying Program.http://surveying.wb.psu.edu/psu-surv/career.htm Geodesy and Land SurveyingNOAA National Geodetic Survey (NGS)
- defines and manages the National Spatial Reference System (NSRS) - the framework for latitude,
longitude, height, scale, gravity, orientation and shoreline throughout the United States. NGS
products include aerial photographs, latitude and longitude values for triangulation and GPS stations, elevations
for bench marks, state plane coordinates, etc.
Geographic InformationFederal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) - an interagency committee,
organized in 1990 under OMB Circular A-16 that promotes the coordinated use, sharing, and dissemination of
geospatial data on a national basis.
Geographic Information Systems from U.S. Geological Survey
Global Positioning SystemNational Ocean Service GPS site
United States Coast Guard Navigation Center GPS site
U.S. Government GPS site - developed by the National Space-Based Positioning,
Navigation, and Timing Coordination Office and hosted by the United States Coast Guard Navigation Center
HydrographyInternational Hydrographic Organization - an intergovernmental
consultative and technical organization that was established in 1921 to support safety in navigation and
protection of the marine environment.
NOAA Office of Coast Survey - conducts and manages hydrographic
surveying for NOAA
Maps and MappingBathymetry, Topography & Relief products and services
of NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center
Data Explorer of NOAA's National Ocean Service offers access to many products, including bathymetry, coastal maps, environmental
sensitivity index maps, aerial photographs, and more.
Environmental Sensitivity Index Maps of NOAA's Office of Response and
Restoration
Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office
of Coast Survey: over 35,000 scanned images including some of the Nation's earliest nautical charts, bathymetric maps, city plans,
and Civil War battlefield maps.
Historical Map Archive of the University of Alabama - a digitized collection
of selected map holdings from sources including the University of Alabama Map Library, the W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library, the Rucker
Agee Map Collection of the Birmingham Public Library, the Geological Survey of Alabama, the Samford University Special Collections Library, and the
Alabama Department of Archives and History.
Historical Maps of the Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library,
University of
Georgia Libraries. Many digitized images of maps of Georgia and South Carolina dating back to the 1500s.
Library of Congress Geography & Map Reading Room
MapMachine - National Geographic's interactive atlas
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) - descendant of the Defense
Mapping Agency/National Imagery and Mapping Agency: CIA mapping and imagery, etc.
The National Map - the Nation's Topographic Map for the 21st Century (U.S. Geological Survey)
Perry-Castaneda Library
Map Collection of the University of Texas - current interest maps, general interest maps, historical maps, etc.
Shoreline Data site - also includes shoreline mapping history, information about t-sheets, etc.
(site developed and designed by NOAA's Coastal Services Center)
United States Geological Survey - the major mapping agency for the United States
World War II Cloth Maps
Photography and PhotogrammetryAerial photography orders - NOAA
Photogrammetry - to order aerial photographs of coastal regions and in the vicinity of airports throughout the United States.
This is an element of the office of the National Geodetic Survey.
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center -
U.S. Geological Survey satellite images of the Earth and aerial photos of the U.S.
|
||||||||||
| ||||||||||