(none)
NOAA Central Library
 Contact Us | Catalog | Ask-A-Librarian | Feedback | A-Z Index
All of NOAA

WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide

WINDandSEA Index |  Previous page |  Next page |  Teachers and Students Corner |  NOAA Photosites | 

Topics: Fish thru Glossaries

Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website.

Fish

Academic Programs

Auburn University Department of Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures, College of Agriculture (Auburn)
http://www.ag.auburn.edu/fish/prospective-students/graduate/

California Collaborative Fisheries Research Program of Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
http://seagrant.mlml.calstate.edu/research/ccfrp/

Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences & Marine Sciences Programs at The University of Florida (Gainesville)
http://sfrc.ufl.edu/fish/

Humboldt State University Department of Fisheries Biology (Arcata, California)
http://www.humboldt.edu/fisheries/

Maine Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit of the Dept. of Wildlife Ecology at The University of Maine (Orono)
http://umaine.edu/wle/maine-cooperative-fish-and-wildlife-research-unit/

Michigan State University Department of Fisheries and Wildlife (East Lansing)
http://www.fw.msu.edu/

NOAA's National Sea Grant College Program - a network of 33 Sea Grant programs located in every coastal and Great Lakes state, Puerto Rico, Lake Champlain and Guam
http://seagrant.noaa.gov/WhereWeWork/SeaGrantPrograms.aspx

North Atlantic Fisheries College Marine Centre of the UK
http://www.nafc.ac.uk/

Oregon State University Department of Fisheries and Wildlife (Corvallis)
http://fw.oregonstate.edu/

Pelagic Fisheries Research Program of the University of Hawaii (Honolulu)
http://www.soest.hawaii.edu/PFRP/pfrp1.html

Texas A&M University Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences (College Station)
http://wfscnet.tamu.edu/

University of Alaska School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences - Fisheries Division (Juneau, Fairbanks, and Kodiak)
http://www.sfos.uaf.edu/fishdiv/

University of British Columbia Fisheries Centre (Vancouver)
http://www.fisheries.ubc.ca

University of Minnesota Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology (St. Paul)
http://fwcb.cfans.umn.edu/

University of Rhode Island Fisheries Program, Department of Fisheries, Animal, and Veterinary Sciences (Kingston)
http://cels.uri.edu/favs/FAVS_Fishery.aspx

University of Washington School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences (Seattle)
http://www.fish.washington.edu/

Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) Department of Fisheries Science at The College of William and Mary (Gloucester Point)
http://www.vims.edu/research/departments/fisheries/
 

Associations, Commissions, and Societies

American Elasmobranch Society
http://elasmo.org/

American Fisheries Society
http://fisheries.org/

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
http://www.asih.org

Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR)
http://www.ccamlr.org/

European Ichthyological Society
http://artedi.nrm.se/eis/

French Ichthyological Society - see link for French version
http://www.mnhn.fr/sfi/cybium/homecybiumgb.html

Gilbert Ichthyological Society
http://www.gilbertsociety.org/

Hubbs Ichthyological Society - site hosted by the University of Texas at Austin
http://www.utexas.edu/tmm/tnhc/fish/hubbs/HIS/index.html

Ichthyological Society of Hong Kong - see link for Chinese version
http://www.hkis.hk/index_e.php

Ichthyological Society of Japan - see link for Japanese version
http://www.fish-isj.jp/index-e.html
 

Bibliographies

Anthropogenic Radionuclides in the Marine Environment: A Selected Bibliography - compiled by Chris Belter at the NOAA Central Library and others
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/researchtools/subjectguides/marine_radionuclides.pdf

Early Life History of Fishes bibliography - a searchable index of more than 13,000 citations developed in 1988 by Dr. Robert D. Hoyt of Western Kentucky University and updated in 2002 by Tom Kennedy of University of Alabama and Darrel E. Snyder of Colorado State University. It's a good source for non-current references. The site is hosted by the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library at University of California San Diego.
http://escholarship.org/uc/item/4p54w451

Effects of Fish on Lakes Bibliography (1929-2001) - prepared by Dr. Ray Drenner at Texas Christian University, Fort Worth
http://www.bio.tcu.edu/drenner/bib.html

Fish Bulletin No. 22. A Bibliography of the Tunas - compiled by by Genevieve Corwin (published in 1929). The site is hosted by the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library at University of California San Diego.
http://escholarship.org/uc/item/8z84t9hq

Fish Bulletin No. 36. A Bibliography of the Sardines - compiled by Genevieve Corwin Wheeler (published in 1931). The site is hosted by the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library at University of California San Diego.
http://escholarship.org/uc/item/12x9k8zd

Fisheries bibliographies - site hosted by Humboldt State University Library, Arcata, California
http://library.humboldt.edu/infoservices/staff/rls/resfish.htm#biblio

Fishery Publication Indexes (1871-1985) - of the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries, Fish and Wildlife Service, and NOAA Fisheries Service/National Marine Fisheries Service
http://spo.nwr.noaa.gov/pubindex.htm

Mobile Fishing Gear Effects on Benthic Habitats: A Bibliography (second edition) - compiled by staff at the Alaska Fisheries Science Center of NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service
http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/Publications/AFSC-TM/NOAA-TM-AFSC-135.pdf

Ocean Exploration and Research Bibliography - compiled by staff at the NOAA Central Library
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/researchtools/subjectguides/oceanexplorebib_author.html

The Sargasso Sea: A Selected Bibliography - compiled by Chris Belter at the NOAA Central Library
http://www.lib.noaa.gov/researchtools/subjectguides/sargasso_sea_bibliography.pdf

Shark bibliography - compiled by George H. Burgess at the Florida Museum of Natural History, University of Florida Gainesville
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/Sharks/references/references.htm

Whale Shark bibliography - compiled by Fay Henry Wolfson and Giuseppe Notarbartolo-di-Sciara (published in 1980). The site is hosted by the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library at University of California San Diego.
http://escholarship.org/uc/item/4xd5r8q6
 

Commercial Fish Information

Fishery Economics Subject Page - maintained as a service of the InternationalAssociation of Marine and Aquatic Science Libraries and Information Centres (IAMSLIC) and the Centre for the Economics and Management of Aquatic Resources (CEMARE), University of Portsmouth
http://www.port.ac.uk/research/cemare/usefullinks/

International Pacific Halibut Commission
http://www.iphc.washington.edu/

The Lobster Institute of the University of Maine at Orono
http://www.lobsterinstitute.org

Regional Fishery Management Councils - mission is to develop management plans for commercial species of marine life in implementation of United States fisheries laws
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/management/councils/
http://www.nefmc.org (New England Fishery Management Council)
http://www.mafmc.org (Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council)
http://www.safmc.net (South Atlantic Fishery Management Council)
http://www.gulfcouncil.org (Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council)
http://www.caribbeanfmc.com (Caribbean Fishery Management Council)
http://www.pcouncil.org (Pacific Fishery Management Council)
http://www.fakr.noaa.gov/npfmc/ (North Pacific Fishery Management Council)
http://www.wpcouncil.org (Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council)

Seafood.com provides news, buying and selling services, expert advice, consulting resources, etc.
http://www.seafood.com
 

Facts and Frequently Asked Questions

FishWatch: U.S. Seafood Facts - site maintained by NOAA Fisheries Service/National Marine Fisheries Service
http://www.fishwatch.gov

NOAA Fisheries Service Fish FAQ - a bouillabaisse of fascinating facts about fish
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/faq/index.html

StreamNet: Fish Data for the Northwest, a consortium of wildlife agencies and tribes of the Pacific Northwest - includes databases, photo library, and glossary
http://www.streamnet.org
 

Government Fisheries Organizations

Fisheries and Aquaculture Department of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization
http://www.fao.org/fishery/en
http://www.fao.org/fishery/countryprofiles/search/en (fishery and aquaculture country profiles)

NOAA Fisheries Service/National Marine Fisheries Service
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/

U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Seafood Guidance Documents & Regulatory Information
http://www.fda.gov/food/guidanceregulation/guidancedocumentsregulatoryinformation/seafood/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/food/foodscienceresearch/rfe/default.htm (Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia)
 

Habitat

Fisheries and Habitat Conservation of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
http://www.fws.gov/FHC/

Gulf of Maine Coastal Program of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service - includes links to information about habitat protection and identification projects, technical reports, habitat maps, etc.
http://www.fws.gov/GOMCP/index.html

Mangrove Replenishment Initiative - a private site detailing the problems of regenerating the mangrove swamp habitat
http://mangrove.org/video/mri.html

NOAA Fisheries Service Office of Habitat Conservation - links to publications, information about essential fish habitat, wetlands, anadromous fish, marine protected areas, National Wetlands Mitigation Action Plan, etc.
http://www.habitat.noaa.gov/
 

Ichthyology

Biology Browser (Thomson Reuters) - search for ichthyology resources
http://www.biologybrowser.org

Early Women Ichthyologists paper by Patricia Stocking Brown in a 1994 issue of Environmental Biology of Fishes
http://swfsc.noaa.gov/uploadedFiles/Education/Women in Ichthyology.pdf

Ichthyology at the Smithsonian Institution - link to information about early ichthyologists Charles Frederic Girard, Theodore Nicholas Gill, George Brown Goode, Tarleton Hoffman Bean, and David Starr Jordan
http://vertebrates.si.edu/fishes/ichthyology_history/ichthyologists.html

Ichthyology at the University of Florida Museum of Natural History
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/education/bioprofile.htm (Biological Profiles)

Ichthyology collection at the Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture at the University of Washington, Seattle
http://www.washington.edu/burkemuseum/collections/ichthyology/index.php

Ichthyology Department of Harvard University Museum of Comparative Zoology
http://www.mcz.harvard.edu/Departments/Fish/

Ichthyology Department of the California Academy of Sciences
http://research.calacademy.org/ichthyology
 

Imagery

Alaska Fisheries Science Center Multimedia Gallery
http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/MultimediaGallery/search.php

NOAA Fisheries Image Gallery
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/gallery/images/

NOAA Fisheries Video Gallery
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/gallery/videos/

NOAA Photo Library Fisheries Collection
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/fish/index.html
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/nmfs/index.html (NOAA Photo Library Historic Fisheries Collection)

Northeast Fisheries Science Center Photo Gallery
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/rcb/photogallery/

Sea Turtle Photos (Office of Protected Resources)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/species/turtles/photos.htm

Southwest Fisheries Science Center Image Gallery
http://swfsc.noaa.gov/ImageGallery/
 

Links

Fish Consumption Advisories from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidance/fishshellfish/fishadvisories/index.cfm

Fisheries and Aquaculture Branch Library, Fisheries and Aquaculture Department of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/fishery/library

Fisheries Reference Resources from Humboldt State University Library
http://library.humboldt.edu/~rls/resfish.htm

Florida Museum of Natural History Ichthyology, Shark, and Sawfish links
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/links/links.htm
 

Marketing

GLOBEFISH - the unit of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization Fisheries Department responsible for information on international fish markets and fish trade
http://www.globefish.org/homepage.html

Seafood.com - seafood marketing information
http://www.seafood.com

Urner Barry - links to seafood marketing news, fish posters/wall charts, single species lithographs (under Products & Services), etc.
http://www.urnerbarry.com
 

NOAA Fisheries Service/National Marine Fisheries Service

Aquaculture - activities of the NMFS Aquaculture Office are guided by objectives in the aquaculture policies of the Department of Commerce and NOAA. The program also adheres to national aquaculture, fisheries, and ocean legislation including the National Aquaculture Act of 1980 (most recently reauthorized under the 2008 Farm Bill), the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, the Coastal Zone Management Act, the Endangered Species Act, and the Marine Mammal Protection Act.
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/aquaculture/

Bycatch - the National Bycatch Program, Domestic Fisheries Division, Office of Sustainable Fisheries (link to publications, image gallery, information about bycatch, etc.)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/by_catch/index.htm

Education
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/education

Fish News - an automated, e-mail-based newsletter (archived issues also online from 2004-present) that provides electronic notification of important actions, rules, policies, and programs
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/fishnews/fishnews.htm

Fisheries glossary
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/st4/documents/FishGlossary.pdf

FishWatch - U.S. Seafood Facts
http://www.fishwatch.gov

Historical information - photos, historical articles, etc. (Northeast Fisheries Science Center)
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/index.html
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/timeline/1870.html (timeline)
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/stories/legacy/legacy2.html (Baird's Legacy)
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/stories/whistory.html (Woods Hole: The Early Years)

Home page - links to program offices, regional offices, science centers, news, imagery, etc.
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov

International Affairs (NOAA Fisheries Service Office of International Affairs)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ia/

Laws and Policies: summaries of marine resource laws (or information about NOAA's authority under them) followed by NOAA Fisheries Service:
http://www.house.gov/legcoun/Comps/Antarctic%20Marine%20Living%20Resources%20Convention%20Act%20Of%201984.pdf (Antarctic Marine Living Resources Convention Act)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/laws/esa/text.htm (Endangered Species Act)
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/whatwedo/fpa/federal_power_act.html (Federal Power Act)
http://www.usbr.gov/power/legislation/fwca.pdf (Fish and Wildlife Coordination Act)
http://www.csc.noaa.gov/legislativeatlas/lawDetails.jsp?lawID=812 (Fishermen's Protective Act (Pelly Amendment))
http://www.fws.gov/international/laws-treaties-agreements/us-conservation-laws/lacey-act.html (Lacey Act (including amendments))
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/magact/ (Magnuson Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/msa2007/ (Magnuson Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act reauthorized)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/laws/mmpa/ (Marine Mammal Protection Act)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/PartnershipsCommunications/NARPwCover3.pdf (National Artificial Reef Plan (as amended))
http://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/about/legislation/ (National Marine Sanctuaries Act)
http://www.gc.noaa.gov/documents/gcil_crs_oda.pdf (Ocean Dumping Act (also known as the Marine Protection, Research and Sanctuaries Act))
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/sustainable_fishereries_act.pdf (Sustainable Fisheries Act)

Partnerships and Communications (Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/PartnershipsCommunications/

Permits - NMFS Permit Shop
https://hmspermits.noaa.gov/

Program Offices
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/aquaculture/index.htm (Office of Aquaculture)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/ (Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/ (Office of Protected Resources)
http://www.habitat.noaa.gov/ (Office of Habitat Conservation)
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/ (Office of Science & Technology)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ole/ (Office of Law Enforcement)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ia/ (Office of International Affairs)
http://www.seafood.nmfs.noaa.gov/ (Seafood Inspection Program)

Regional offices
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/fis/partnerships/fro.html
http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov (Alaska Regional Office)
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/ (West Coast Regional Office)
http://www.fpir.noaa.gov/ (Pacific Islands Regional Office)
http://sero.nmfs.noaa.gov (Southeast Regional Office)
http://www.nero.noaa.gov (Northeast/Greater Atlantic Regional Office)

Science centers - links to websites of the Alaska, Northwest, Pacific Islands, Southwest, Southeast, and Northeast Science Centers as well as the individual labs and field stations
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/science.htm

Statistics
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/commercial-fisheries/index (Commercial Fisheries Statistics) - access commercial fishery landings, foreign trade information, fishery market news, links to full text recent issues of Fisheries of the United States and other publications, etc.
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/recreational-fisheries/index (Recreational Fisheries Statistics) - access data, program information, outreach resources, etc.

Strandings
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/health/stranding.htm

Trade and commercial services (Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/PartnershipsCommunications/tradecommercial/index.html
 

Posters, Charts, and Guides

Coral reef posters (NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program)
http://coralreef.noaa.gov/education/educators/resourcecd/posters/

Marine life identification charts and posters from Windsor Nature Discovery - see Identification Charts and Posters
http://www.nature-discovery.com/Posters-c2.htm

Marine life identification posters/wall charts and lithographs from Urner Barry
http://shop.urnerbarry.com/

Southwest Fisheries Science Center posters - links to Green Seas Blue Seas: California Current, Changing by Degrees poster and also a Species Identification poster (NMFS Southwest Fisheries Science Center)
http://swfsc.noaa.gov/greenseas-blueseas/
 

Publications

Aquaculture, Fisheries, & Fish Science - related journal and books titles available from Wiley
http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/Section/id-351864.html

Billfish Newsletter of Southwest Fisheries Science Center, NOAA Fisheries Service - an annual newsletter that includes information on such species as marlin, sailfish, and swordfish (issues back to 1995)
http://swfsc.noaa.gov/textblock.aspx?Division=FRD&id=1199&ParentMenuId=32

FishNews - an automated, email-based newsletter that provides electronic notification of important actions, rules, policies, and programs. FishNews is coordinated by the Partnerships and Communications Division (Office of Sustainable Fisheries).
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/fishnews/fishnews.htm

NOAA Fisheries Service/National Marine Fisheries Service publications: links to popular NMFS publications, full text articles from recent issues of NMFS journals, publications of NMFS headquarters and regional offices, etc.

http://spo.nmfs.noaa.gov/ (Scientific Publications Office (SPO) - publishes Fishery Bulletin, Marine Fisheries Review, etc.)
http://spo.nmfs.noaa.gov/tm/index.htm (links to technical memoranda in "NOAA TM NMFS SPO" series 2000-present)
http://spo.nwr.noaa.gov/pubindex.htm (Fishery Publication Indexes of documents (1871-1985) of the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries, Fish and Wildlife Service, and NOAA Fisheries Service/National Marine Fisheries Service)
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/tm_search.html (search for NOAA Technical Memoranda in all NMFS Series)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/aquaculture/index.htm (Office of Aquaculture: see the news links and the link to sign up for the NOAA Aquaculture Newsletter)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/publications/ (Office of Protected Resources)
http://www.habitat.noaa.gov/media/publications.html/ (Office of Habitat Conservation)
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/index (Office of Science and Technology: see Publications)
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/recreational-fisheries/in-depth/outreach-resources/index (Office of Science and Technology (Recreational Fisheries Statistics) Outreach Resources)
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/st5/index.html (Fisheries Economics & Social Sciences Program, Office of Science and Technology: see Reports & Publications)
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/commercial-fisheries/publications/index (Commercial fisheries statistics publications, Office of Science and Technology)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/ (Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/hms/ (Atlantic Highly Migratory Species, Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/state_federal/state_federal.htm (State/Federal Services, Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/state_federal/Reports.htm (Reports to Congress, State/Federal Services, Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/domes_fish/index.htm (Domestic Fisheries, Office of Sustainable Fisheries)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ia (Office of International Affairs)
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/ole/index.html (Office of Law Enforcement: see links for Latest News and News Archive)
http://www.seafood.nmfs.noaa.gov/Publications.htm (Seafood Inspection Program)
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/publications/ (Northeast Fisheries Science Center (NEFSC))
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/nefsc/habitat/efh/ (Essential fish habitat source documents, NEFSC)
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/nefsc/saw/ (Northeast Regional Stock Assessment Workshop (SAW) and Stock Assessment Review Committee (SARC) reports, NEFSC: see SAW and SARC Reports)
http://www.nero.noaa.gov (Northeast Regional Office (NERO))
http://sero.nmfs.noaa.gov (Southeast Regional Office (SERO))
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/publications/ (Southeast Fisheries Science Center (SEFSC))
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/species/turtles/publications.htm (SEFSC sea turtle publications)
http://www.galvestonlab.sefsc.noaa.gov/publications/index.html (Galveston Laboratory, SEFSC)
http://www.galvestonlab.sefsc.noaa.gov/research/fishery_ecology/feb_pubs/index.html (Galveston Fishery Ecology Branch, SEFSC)
http://www.westcoast.fisheries.noaa.gov/index.html (West Coast Regional Office: see Publications)
http://swfsc.noaa.gov/submenu.aspx?&ParentMenuId=32 (Southwest Fisheries Science Center (SWFSC))
http://www.fpir.noaa.gov/DIR/dir_public_documents.html (Pacific Islands Regional Office (PIRO) Public Documents)
http://www.pifsc.noaa.gov/library/publication_search.php (Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center (PIFSC) staff publications)
http://www.pifsc.noaa.gov/wpacfin/central_pubs.php (Western Pacific Fisheries Information Network (WPacFIN) - located at the PIFSC)
http://www.nwfsc.noaa.gov/publications/index.cfm (Northwest Fisheries Science Center (NWFSC))
http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/Publications/default.htm (Alaska Fisheries Science Center (AFSC))
http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/nmml/publications.php (National Marine Mammal Laboratory (NMML), AFSC)
http://access.afsc.noaa.gov/pubs/search.cfm (AFSC staff publications: search the database of all publications by AFSC staff, including publications by NMML staff)
http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/ (Alaska Regional Office)
http://www2.coastalscience.noaa.gov/publications/ (National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NCCOS) Publications Explorer - search for publications 1948-present (National Ocean Service))
 

Species Information

California Marine Sportfish Identification from the California Dept. of Fish and Game
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/marine/msfindx0.asp

Catalog of Fishes from the California Academy of Sciences
http://research.calacademy.org/research/ichthyology/catalog/fishcatmain.asp

Census of Marine Life - site maintained by the Office of Marine Programs at the University of Rhode Island
http://www.coml.org

The Cephalopod Page - maintained by Dr. James B. Wood, Associate Director of the Waikiki Aquarium at the University of Hawaii
http://www.thecephalopodpage.org

The Cephalopoda - site of the University of California Museum of Paleontology
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/taxa/inverts/mollusca/cephalopoda.php

Endangered Species Act information from NOAA Fisheries Service Office of Protected Resources
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/laws/esa/

Fish and invertebrate species photo gallery from NMFS Alaska Fisheries Science Center
http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/race/media/photo_gallery/speciesID.htm

Fish Finder of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/fishery/fishfinder/en

Fish Finder of the North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries - illustrations of many fish species found in North Carolina estuaries and continental shelf and slope areas
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/fish-finder

FishBase - a global information system on fishes searchable by scientific name, common name, country, ecosystem, topic, etc. Also includes a glossary.
http://www.fishbase.org/home.htm

Florida Museum of Natural History biological profiles
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/Education/bioprofile.htm

Gray's Reef photographs and videos
http://graysreef.noaa.gov/pgallery/welcome.html

Grunion Fact Sheet from the California Department of Fish and Game
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/marine/grunion.asp

Halibut - site of the International Pacific Halibut Commission. IPHC is responsible for research on and management of the stocks of Pacific halibut of Canada and the U.S.
http://www.iphc.washington.edu

Integrated Taxonomic Information System - includes documented taxonomic information of flora and fauna from both aquatic and terrestrial habitats. The ITIS is the result of a partnership of federal agencies formed to satisfy their mutual needs for scientifically credible taxonomic information.
http://www.itis.gov

NOAA Fisheries Service Office of Protected Resources - species information page
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/species/

Ocean Biogeographic Information System - a project of the Census of Marine Life
http://www.iobis.org

SalmonScape from the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
http://apps.wdfw.wa.gov/salmonscape/

Salmon and Steelhead Habitat Inventory and Assessment Program (SSHIAP) site of the Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission (NWIFC). The Washington Treaty Indian Tribes and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) are the co-managers on the SSHIAP program.
http://nwifc.org/about-us/habitat/sshiap/

Salmon Hatchery Questions & Answers - a site of the Arcata Fish and Wildlife Office, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. The questions and answers were prepared by scientists at the National Marine Fisheries Service Northwest Fisheries Science Center
http://www.fws.gov/arcata/fisheries/reports/tamwg/2008/March10-11/Attachment4.pdf

Shark research site from the Florida Museum of Natural History
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/Sharks/sharks.htm

Sharks - Mote Marine Laboratory Shark Biology and Conservation Program
http://www.mote.org/index.php?src=gendocs&link=SharkResearch&category=Shark%20Research

Sharks - Pelagic Shark Research Foundation
http://www.pelagic.org

Species Profiles: Life Histories and Environmental Requirements of Coastal Fishes and Invertebrates of the U.S. - full text access to digital copies of the original publications. The series was produced by the National Wetlands Research Center of the U.S. Geological Survey.
http://www.nwrc.usgs.gov/publications/specindex.htm

Stingrays from Mote Marine Laboratory
http://www.mote.org/index.php?src=gendocs&link=Stingrays&category=Shark%20Research&submenu=INFO
 

Statistics

Commercial Fisheries Statistics site of the NMFS Fisheries Statistics Division, Office of Science and Technology - access commercial fishery landings, foreign trade information, fishery market news, links to full text recent issues of Fisheries of the United States and other publications, etc.
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/commercial-fisheries/index

Recreational Fisheries Statistics site of the NMFS Marine Recreational Information Program, Office of Science and Technology
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/recreational-fisheries/index

Fishery Statistics - statistics and information service, Fisheries and Aquaculture Department, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/fishery/statistics/en
 

General Reference Information

Area code locator for North America
http://www.areacodelocations.info/

Congress.gov - the official source for federal legislative information. This service of the Library of Congress replaces the THOMAS.gov site, which will be permanently retired by the end of 2014.

Countries of the World from Infoplease - country profiles
http://www.infoplease.com/countries.html

Country Studies from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress
http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/

Dictionaries - OneLook dictionary search
http://www.onelook.com/

General Reference and Information Resources site of the State of Rhode Island Office of Library & Information Services
http://www.olis.ri.gov/services/library/webref.php

General Reference Internet Sources site of the U.S. Department of the Interior Library
http://www.doi.gov/library/internet/general-reference-sources.cfm

General Reference Sources site of the University of Chicago Library
http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/using/reference/genref.html

ipl2: information you can trust - this Resources by Subject site was compiled by merging the collections of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science.
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/

Maps - Perry-Castaneda Library online map collection of the University of Texas at Austin. Includes current interest maps, general interest maps, historical maps, etc.
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html

Reference Center and General Government - link to historical documents, laws and regulations, libraries, maps, etc.
http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Reference_Shelf.shtml

Roget's International Thesaurus
http://www.bartleby.com/110/

Scholarpedia: the peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia
http://www.scholarpedia.org/article/Main_Page

Thomas - Legislative information online - in the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
http://beta.congress.gov/

U.S. Government information by topic
http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/All-Topics.shtml

Virtual Reference Shelf site of the Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/rr/askalib/virtualref.html

The World Factbook  of the Central Intelligence Agency - information about countries, oceans, locations, etc.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

Zip codes - United States Postal Service Zip+4 code lookup
http://zip4.usps.com/zip4/welcome.jsp
 

Geoscience

American Geosciences Institute - (formerly American Geological Institute) links to publications, sites of member societies, etc.
http://www.americangeosciences.org/

American Geophysical Union
http://sites.agu.org/

Association of American State Geologists - links to sites of all 50 state geologists
http://www.stategeologists.org/

Earth science sites/resources - Global Change Master Directory of NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/learn/pointers/index.html

Earth Sciences & Map Library of the University of California Berkeley Library
http://lib.berkeley.edu/EART/

Geodetic resources from NOAA's National Geodetic Survey - links to sites of government, academic, and private organizations from  around the world
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/CORS/geodetic_links.shtml

Geomagnetism - calculators, data, models & software, FAQs, etc. (NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center)
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/geomag/

Geoscience Departments WWW Directory for U. S. and Canada from the University of South Dakota
http://apps.usd.edu/esci/geodepts.html

Global Volcanism Program of Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History
http://www.volcano.si.edu/

National Society of Professional Surveyors
http://www.nsps.us.com/

Natural hazards - earthquakes, volcanoes, landslides, floods, etc., U.S. Geological Survey
http://www.usgs.gov/natural_hazards/

Natural hazards data, images, and education - earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanoes, tropical cyclones, etc., NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/hazard/

Natural hazards imagery of NASA's Earth Observatory
http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/NaturalHazards/

Visible Earth - NASA's catalog of images and animations of our planet
http://visibleearth.nasa.gov

Volcano World from Oregon State University
http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/
 

Glossaries

Atmospheric-Related Sciences Glossaries

Atmospheric Chemistry Glossary developed by Sam Houston State University
http://www.shsu.edu/~chm_tgc/Glossary/glos.html

Carbon Dioxide and Climate Glossary developed by Department of Energy, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, CDIAC program
http://cdiac.esd.ornl.gov/glossary.html

Climate and Weather Terms Glossary of the Western Regional Climate Center
http://www.wrcc.dri.edu/ams/glossary.html

Climate Change Terms Glossary from U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/climatechange/glossary.html

Climate Glossary of National Weather Service's Climate Prediction Center
http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/outreach/glossary.shtml

Climate Glossary of the NOAA Paleoclimatology site of National Climatic Data Center
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/paleo/ctl/glossary.html

Climate Related Terms Glossary of the Physical Sciences Division of NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory
http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/psd/enso/glossary/

Cryosphere Glossary of the National Snow & Ice Data Center
http://nsidc.org/cryosphere/glossary

ENSO (El Nino/Southern Oscillation) Terms Glossary from the NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/psd/enso/enso.glossary.html

Federal Meteorological Handbook No. 1 (Surface Weather Observations and Reports) Glossary
http://www.ofcm.gov/fmh-1/pdf/M-APNDXA.pdf

Fire Weather Forecast Terminology of the National Weather Service Forecast Office in Pendleton, Oregon
http://newweb.wrh.noaa.gov/pdt/forecast/fireWeatherGlossary.php

Flood terms glossary from the National Flood Insurance Program of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
https://www.floodsmart.gov/floodsmart/pages/glossary_A-I.jsp

Floodplain Management Glossary from the Federal Emergency Management Agency
http://www.fema.gov/pdf/fima/pbuffd_appendix_b.pdf

Floodplain Terms Glossary from the Federal Emergency Management Agency
http://www.fema.gov/pdf/floodplain/nfip_sg_appendix_d.pdf

Floodplain Terms Glossary from the Nebraska Department of Natural Resources
http://www.dnr.ne.gov/fpm/glossary-of-terms

Floodplain Terms Glossary from Nebraska's Lancaster County
http://lincoln.ne.gov/city/pworks/watrshed/mfptf/meetings/2002/031902/pdf/fpgloss.pdf

Global Change Master Directory List of Earth Science Acronyms, Glossaries, and Gazetteers from National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Goddard Space Flight Center
http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/learn/faqs/acronyms.html

Hurricane Terms Glossary from National Hurricane Center/Tropical Prediction Center
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/aboutgloss.shtml

Hydrologic Definitions and General Introduction to Hydrology - a U.S. Geological Survey Science in Your Watershed site
http://water.usgs.gov/wsc/glossary.html

Hydrologic Terms Glossary from National Weather Service
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/os/hod/SHManual/SHMan014_glossary.htm

Hydrologic Terms Glossary from U. S. Geological Survey (USGS) Oregon Water Science Center
http://or.water.usgs.gov/projs_dir/willgw/glossary.html

Meteorological Terms Glossary from the American Meteorological Society
http://glossary.ametsoc.org/wiki/Main_Page

Meteorological Terms Glossary of the Australian Government's Bureau of Meteorology
http://www.bom.gov.au/lam/glossary/

Meteorological Terms Glossary from Texas A&M University
http://geoclasses.tamu.edu/atmo/atmo202/Severedir/dictionary-a-b.html

National Weather Service Glossary
http://w1.weather.gov/glossary/

NOAA's nowCOAST Glossary - includes observation-related terms, forecast-related terms, and organizational acronyms
http://nowcoast.noaa.gov/help/glossary.shtml

Ozone Layer Protection Glossary of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/ozone/defns.html

Radar and Synthetic Aperture Radar Glossary of the European Space Agency
https://earth.esa.int/handbooks/asar/CNTR5-2.htm

Snow Glossary of the National Snow and Ice Data Center
http://nsidc.org/cryosphere/glossary-terms/snow

Solar-Terrestrial Terms Glossary developed by NOAA's Space Environment Laboratory, hosted by NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/stp/GLOSSARY/glossary.html

Tropical Cyclone Terms Glossary of the Central Pacific Hurricane Center/National Weather Service
http://www.prh.noaa.gov/cphc/pages/glossary.php

Water Resources Terminology Glossary from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Coastal & Hydraulics Laboratory
http://chl.erdc.usace.army.mil/glossary

Weather Forecast Glossary compiled by San Francisco Weather Service Forecast Office - many terms northern California specific
http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/mtr/afd-guide.php

Weather Glossary from The Weather Channel
http://www.weather.com/glossary/a.html

Weather Terms for Storm Spotters - a comprehensive glossary of weather terms for storm spotters from the National Weather Service Forecast Office, Norman, Oklahoma
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/?n=spotterglossary

Weather Terms Glossary compiled by the National Weather Service Forecast Office in Upton, New York - many season specific terms (site hosted by the Westchester Emergency Communications Association)
http://www.weca.org/nws-terms.html

Wildland Fire Terminology Glossary of the National Wildfire Coordinating Group
http://www.nwcg.gov/pms/pubs/glossary/index.htm
 

Earth Sciences Glossaries

Biology/Paleontology Glossary developed by the University of California Museum of Paleontology. Subjects covered are phylogenetics, geology, biochemistry, cell biology, ecology, life history, zoology, botany, and paleogeography.
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/glossary/glossary.html

Earthquake Terms (Visual) Glossary from the Earthquake Hazards Program, USGS
http://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/glossary/

Geologic Glossary from Cengage's GeologyLink
http://college.cengage.com/geology/resources/geologylink/glossary.html

Geologic Glossary from USGS and National Park Service
http://www.nature.nps.gov/geology/USGSNPS/misc/glossaryAtoC.html

Geologic Terms Glossary from Illinois State Geological Survey
http://crystal.isgs.uiuc.edu/glossary.shtml

Geologic Terms Glossary from Iowa State University
http://www.ge-at.iastate.edu/glossary-of-geologic-terms/

Glacial Geology Glossary from University of Colorado Boulder
http://paos.colorado.edu/~fasullo/1060/resources/glacial.glossary.html

Glacier Terminology (Visual) Glossary from USGS - text version also available
http://pubs.usgs.gov/of/2004/1216/

Gravity and Magnetics Terms Glossary from Integrated Geophysics Corporation
http://www.igcworld.com/gm_glos.html

Landform and Geologic Terms Glossary from the U.S. Department of Agriculture
http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/PA_NRCSConsumption/download?cid=nrcs142p2_052234&ext=doc

Seismological terms glossary from Natural Resources Canada
http://www.earthquakescanada.nrcan.gc.ca/info-gen/glossa-eng.php

Seismology/Geology Glossary from the Southern California Earthquake Data Center
http://www.data.scec.org/significant/glossary.html

Volcanic and Geologic Terms Glossary from Oregon State University
http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/glossary/

Volcanic Terms (photo) Glossary of the Volcano Hazards Program, USGS
http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/images/pglossary/index.php

Volcano and Related Terminology Glossary from USGS
http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Glossary/volcano_terminology.html
 

Ecological-Related Sciences Glossaries

Aquaculture Glossary of the Food and Agriculture Organization Fisheries and Aquaculture Department
http://www.fao.org/fi/glossary/aquaculture/default.asp

Aquatic, Wetland, and Invasive Plant Glossary of the University of Florida Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants
http://plants.ifas.ufl.edu/glossary

Biology/Paleontology Glossary developed by the University of California Museum of Paleontology. Subjects covered are phylogenetics, geology, biochemistry, cell biology, ecology, life history, zoology, botany, and paleogeography.
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/glossary/glossary.html

Damage Assessment, Remediation, and Restoration Glossary of NOAA's National Ocean Service
http://www.darrp.noaa.gov/glossary/index.html

Fisheries Glossary of FAO's Fisheries and Aquaculture Department
http://www.fao.org/fi/glossary/default.asp

Fisheries Glossary of NOAA Fisheries Service
http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/st4/documents/FishGlossary.pdf

Fisheries Management Glossary from StreamNet, a consortium of Northwest wildlife agencies and the Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission
http://www.streamnet.org/glossary.html

Protected Resources Glossary of NOAA Fisheries Service
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/glossary.htm

Salmon Recovery Glossary of NOAA's Northwest Fisheries Science Center
http://www.nwfsc.noaa.gov/trt/glossary.cfm

State of the Coast Glossary of NOAA's National Ocean Service
http://stateofthecoast.noaa.gov/glossary.html

Watershed Glossary of NOAA's Northwest Fisheries Science Center
http://www.nwfsc.noaa.gov/research/divisions/fe/wpg/watershed-glossary.cfm

Wetland Bioassessment Glossary of the EPA
http://water.epa.gov/type/wetlands/assessment/glossary.cfm
 

Oceanic-Related Sciences Glossaries

Chemical Terms Glossary from Faculty of Chemistry and Technology, Split University, Croatia
http://www.ktf-split.hr/periodni/en/abc/index.html

Coastal Terminology Glossary prepared by the Coastal Monitoring & Analysis Program, Washington Department of Ecology
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/sea/swces/products/glossary.htm

Coral Reef Information System (CoRIS) Glossary from NOAA's Coral Reef Conservation Program
http://coris.noaa.gov/glossary/

Marine Biology Glossary from State University of New York at Stony Brook
http://life.bio.sunysb.edu/marinebio/glossary.html

Marine Ecology Glossary from Rice University - excerpted from The State of the Bay: A Characterization of the Galveston Bay Ecosystem. This publication was produced by the Galveston Bay National Estuary Program. 
http://www.rice.edu/armadillo/Galveston/Glossary/glossary.html

Marine Protected Areas Glossary of the Department of Commerce, NOAA, and the Department of the Interior
http://marineprotectedareas.noaa.gov/glossary.html

Ocean Current Glossary from the University of Miami Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science
http://oceancurrents.rsmas.miami.edu/glossary.html

Oceanographic Terms Glossary developed by Texas A&M University
http://oceanworld.tamu.edu/resources/glossary.htm

Optical Oceanography Glossary from the University of Washington Mechanical Engineering Department
http://faculty.washington.edu/mccor/glossary.htm

Physical Oceanography and Related Disciplines Glossary from Texas A&M University
http://stommel.tamu.edu/~baum/paleo/ocean/ocean.html

Tide and Current Glossary developed by the Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services of NOAA's National Ocean Service
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/publications/glossary2.pdf
 

Satellite and Remote Sensing Glossaries

Aerospace Terms Glossary developed by NASA for grades 7-12
http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/K-12/TRC/glossary.htm

Radar Glossary from Argos Press
http://www.argospress.com/Resources/radar/

Remote Sensing Glossary of the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/res/fac/rsvlab/glossary.html

Remote Sensing Glossary from the University of Nebraska
http://www.casde.unl.edu/glossary/index.php

Terms for Sensors & Data Systems Glossary
http://www.sensorland.com/GlossaryPage001.html
 

Water Resource Glossaries

Water Resource Terms Glossary from the Edwards Aquifer Home Page
http://www.edwardsaquifer.net/glossary.html

Water Science Glossary of Terms from USGS
http://water.usgs.gov/edu/dictionary.html

Next Page
Back to Index

  Last modified:    Fri, 30-May-2014 11:47 UTC Library.Reference@noaa.gov
 
Dept. of Commerce - NOAA - NESDIS - NODC
* External link: You will be leaving the Federal
   Government by following an external link.
USA.gov - The U.S. Government's Web Portal