![]() |
||
| ||
| You are Here: Library Home > Research Tools > Subject Guides and Bibliographies > WINDandSEA
|
||||||||||
WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide |
||||||||||
|
WINDandSEA Index | Previous page | Next page | Teachers and Students Corner | NOAA Photosites | Topics: Air Pollution thru Endangered SpeciesNote: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website. Air PollutionAirNOWfrom the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) AirCompare, a new EPA-developed air quality tool, provides local air quality information to help people make informed decisions about moving, vacationing or living in different areas of the country. http://www.epa.gov/aircompare/ Glossary - Plain English Guide to the Clean Air Act from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) http://www.epa.gov/air/caa/peg/ (index page for the Clean Air Act) http://www.epa.gov/oar/oaqps/peg_caa/pegcaa10.html (glossary for the Clean Air Act) IMPROVE - Interagency Monitoring of Protected Visual Environments
Sulfur
pollution from natural sources. Full text paper from NOAA Pacific
Marine Environmental Laboratories.
Acid RainAcid Rain Home Page from EPA. Information on the formation of acid rain, its effects, and a description of the program to reduce emissions responsible for acid rain.http://www.epa.gov/airmarkets/progsregs/arp/index.html The National Atmospheric Deposition
Program operates an acid rain observing network that is used to monitor
the chemistry of precipitation for geographical and temporal long-term
trends. Quality assured precipitation chemistry data (including acidity)
and analyzed maps are available for viewing and downloading.
Carbon DioxideCarbon Dioxide Information and Analysis Center of the Department of Energy at Oak Ridge National Laboratoryhttp://cdiac.esd.ornl.gov/cdiac/ http://cdiac.esd.ornl.gov/pns/faq.html OzoneMeteorological Conditions & Ozone in the Polar StratosphereNOAA's Climate Prediction Center, National Centers for Environmental Prediction NOAA monitors meteorological conditions and ozone amounts in the stratosphere. This comprehensive web site presents graphics to aid in visualizing the evolution of the South Polar "ozone hole" and factors important for ozone depletion in the polar areas. http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/stratosphere/polar/polar.shtml Ozone
Hole FAQ page developed by Weather Underground.
NASA Earth Observatory article on Ozone
Stratospheric Ozone home page
developed by EPA.
AquacultureAlternative
Farming Systems Aquaculture information page. From the Department of Agriculture Primarily pointers
to other sources of information.
Department of
Commerce/National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Aquaculture Information
Center Directory
of State Aquaculture Coordinators and Contacts.
Text of Massachusetts
White Paper on aquaculture. Although written for Massachusetts, has
good biological and technical information.
Astronomy, Time, Star-charts, etc.Astronomy Picture of the Dayhttp://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov./apod/archivepix.html Earth and Sky Radio Series features text and audio of all shows, Tonight's Sky, and more.
History
of Astronomy - a site from the University of Bonn containing many links
to history of astronomy and history of science.
Hubble Space Telescope; Space Telescope
Science Institute
Hubble Space Telescope
News
Internet Resources from Sky and Telescope magazine
Yahoo! Top Science
Site: Astronomy. Hundreds of links to other sites.
Practical Astronomy - Navigation, Time, Sunrise-Sunset, etc.Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office Home Pagehttp://www.ukho.gov.uk/HMNAO/Pages/Home.aspx Naval Observatory Home
Page
Naval Observatory: Sunrise/Sunset; Moonrise/Moonset for United States;
time service
FAQ about time, sunrise/sunset,
phases of moon, astronomic phenomena, calendars and historic events
BibliographiesAquaculture
- National Sea Grant aquaculture bibliography.
El Nino
bibliography developed by Florida State University library.
Comprehensive Bibliography
of The Institute for the Study of Society and Environment (ISSE) Publications
EXXON
VALDEZ Oil Spill Trustee Council Topical Bibliographies cover all aspects of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill.
AlgaeBase
searchable bibliography of over 17,500 references
The TITANIC.
A bibliography of TITANIC literature.
World Ocean Circulation Experiment Bibliography - from US WOCE office.
Career Information for the Oceanic and Atmospheric SciencesAmerican Fisheries Society Job Listings. A list of fishery-related jobs with relevant contact information and web sites.http://www.fisheries.org/jobs.html American Meteorological
Society career center.
Careers
in marine biology and marine science - links to many sources from Stanford
University.
Careers in Oceanography
- an on-line brochure produced by the Oceanography Society for the
Office of Naval Research. Edited by Dr. D. James Baker, the Administrator
of NOAA.
Preparing for a Career in Oceanography from the Scripps Institute of Oceanography
Chesapeake BayEducationBay Education page from the Chesapeake Bay Program -links to education websites throughout the Bay region and U.S.http://www.chesapeakebay.net/education.htm Government ProgramsChesapeake Bay Program Environmental Protection Agency
Chesapeake Bay Program Home Page.
NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Home Page.
Observing SystemChesapeake Bay Observing System (CBOS)-realtime data on bay parameters as well as many links.http://www.cbos.org/ Periodicals about the Bay and Surrounding Watersheds On-lineBay Journal. A Chesapeake Bay newsletter published by George Mason University in cooperation with the EPA Chesapeake Bay Program. On-line issues date back to 1994.http://www.bayjournal.com/ Maryland
Marine Notes - an on-line publication from Maryland Sea Grant.
Potomac Reporter
Information on the Potomac watershed from the Interstate Commission on
the Potomac River Basin.
Ecosystem
Health and Land Loss in the Chesapeake Bay
Research CentersPatuxent Wildlife Research Center
University of Maryland
Center for Environmental Science - Links to Chesapeake
Biological Laboratory, Horn Point Environmental Laboratory, and University
of Maryland research vessels.
ClimateDataAbrupt Climate Change: Inevitable Surprises (2002)Online report published by the National Academy Press for the Committee on Abrupt Climate Change, Ocean Studies Board (OSB), Polar Research Board (PRB), Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate, (BASC), National Research Council http://www.nap.edu/books/0309074347/html/ Arctic Time Series: The Unaami Collection is an interdisciplinary, diverse collection of Arctic variables which represent different geographic regions and data types. The time series extend from 1970 to the present. From NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL).
Bering Climate
Climatological Database for the World's Oceans 1750-1850
EPIC was developed at NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL) to manage the large numbers of hydrographic and time series oceanographic in-situ data sets collected as part of NOAA climate study programs, such as EPOCS and TOGA in earlier years, WOCE and CLIVAR and others more recently.
Guide to Historical Resources in the Atmospheric Sciences: Archives, Manuscripts, and Special Collections in the Washington, D.C. Area
IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library
National Climatic Data Center -
national repository for climate data
National Climatic Data Center - Climate Monitoring: Reports and Products
National Climatic Data Center - Climate
and weather Links (This is an outstanding site.)
National Climatic Data Center Colonial Archive - Information on colonial
era data sets residing within NCDC and the NOAA Library System
National Weather
Service Offices and Centers
NOAA Central Library Climate Data Imaging Project provides images from unique climatological data from the 1830s to the 1970s.
NOAA Central Library U.S. Daily Weather Maps Project
NOAA-CIRES Climate Diagnostics
Center. Selected climate parameters for many United States cities,
Puerto Rico and a few other sites.
NOAA's Climate Monitoring and Diagnostics Laboratory
NOAA Paleoclimatology
North Pole Weather Data from NOAA's Arctic Weather Office.
DroughtNational Drought Mitigation Center from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Provides drought planning, management, and mitigation services to federal, state, local, and tribal governments.http://drought.unl.edu/ U.S. Drought Portal U.S.
Palmer Drought Indices
El Nino - La NinaEl
Nino Theme Page - put out by PMEL.FAQ page, links to data sources,
El Nino forecast, etc. Award-winning site as the Grand Champion winner
of the best WWW Page in NOAA and Federal Showcase Award.
El Nino- La Nina
resource page developed by COAPS Library at Florida State University.
This site has bibliographies, on-line publications, links to other pages,
etc.
El Nino bibliography
developed by Florida State University library.
El Nino/La Nino data and information from NOAA's Center for Climate Prediction
Satellite Altimetry data from TOPEX/POSEIDON processed by the
NOAA Laboratory for Satellite Altimetry traces the evolution and continuation
of the 1997 El Nino event. In particular, check the Equatorial
Pacific diagrams shown for each week since April 1997.
Review of the Causes
and Consequences of Cold Events - A La Nina Summit from UCAR - includes
many short papers on subjects related to and areas affected by La Nina.
TAO-TRITON Data Display - Real-time data from moored ocean buoys for improved detection, understanding and prediction of El Niņo and La Niņa. From NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory (PMEL).
U. S. Global Change Research
Program (USGCRP)
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Climate
Change page
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Sea Level Rise Reports
The Global Change Master Directory
USDA Forest Service - Northern Global Change Research Program
U. S. GLOBEC home page
NASA -
Global Climate Change: NASA's Eyes on the Earth
NACo Climate Protection Program (National Association of Counties)*
California Climate Change Portal*
Maryland Commission on Climate Change*
Maryland Shoreline Changes Online
Oregon Department of Energy - Oregon: Meeting the Challenge of Climate Change*
Western Climate Initiative*
What's Being Done in the States* from the Center for Climate and Energy
Solutions (C2ES), successor to the Pew
Center on Global Climate Change
British Antarctic Survey Climate Change Research*
Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation*
British Antarctic Survey Climate Change Research*
Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation*
United Nations Framework Convention
on Climate Change*
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations - Climate Change
page*
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) *
established by the World Meteorological Association (WMO) and the United
Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to access the risk of human-induced
climate change.
National Adaptation Programmes of Action (NAPAs) for Least Developed Countries*
United Nations Environment Programme Climate Change Theme Page*
UNITAR (United Nations Institute for Training
and Research) Climate Change Programme (CCP)*
World Health Organization (WHO) Climate Change and Human Health Website*
Pacific Regional Environment Programme - Climate Change Portal*
Linking Climate Adaptation Network*
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)*
Encylcopedia of the Earth - Climate Change*
The National Academies Climate Change page*
The MIT Joint Program on the Science and Policiy of Global Change Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research*
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) - Climate Research*
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute (WHOI) Ocean and Climate Change Institute*
University of Maryland Center for Integrative Environmental Research (CIER)*
Informing Decisions in a Changing Climate
Global Climate Change Impacts in the United States
Climate Change 2007: the Fourth Assessment Report (AR4) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change*
Abrupt Climate Change: Inevitable Surprises (2002)*
Adaptation to climate change in agriculture, forestry, and fisheries: Perspective, framework and priorities*
BUYING TIME: A User's Manual for Building Resistance and Resilience to Climate Change in Natural Systems*
Climate Change Research: Agencies Have Data-Sharing Policies but Could Do More to Enhance the Availability of Data from Federally Funded Research
Climate Change Science: An Analysis of Some Key Questions*
Climate Resilient Cities: A Primer on Reducing Vulnerabilities to Climate Change Impacts and Strengthening Disaster Risk Management in East Asian Ciites
Coral Reefs and Global Climate Change: potential contributions of climate change to stresses on coral reef ecosystems*
Evaluating Progress of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program: Methods and Preliminary Results (2007)*
Impacts of a Warming Climate: Arctic Climate Impact Assessment*
Kyoto Protocol* - final authentic text of the Kyoto Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.
Potential Impacts of Climate Change on U.S. Transportation:
Special Report 290*
Preparing for Climate Change: A Guidebook for Local, Regional and State Governments*
Review of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program's Synthesis and Assessment Product 1.3: Reanalyses of Historical Climate Data for Key Atmospheric Features:
Implications for Attribution of Causes of Observed Change*
The Role of Coastal Zone Management Programs in Adapatation to Climate Change: Final Report of the CSO Climate Change Work Group*
Stern Review on the Economics of Climate Change*
Published by the National Academy Press for the National Research Council http://dels.nas.edu/climatechange/basics.shtml#ecol The U.S. Economic Impacts of Climate Change and the Costs of Inaction*
Decision Support ToolsAdaptation Policy Frameworks (APF) for Climate Change*
Pacific RISA Decision Support Tools and Technologies*
Forecasts and Planning Tools* from the University of Washington, Climate Impacts Group
Coastal StudiesAcademic OrganizationsCenter for Coastal and Land Margin Research (CCALMR). Affiliated with the Oregon Graduate Institute of Science and Technology.http://www.stccmop.org/ccalmr.html School of the Coast and Environment,
Department of Environmental Studies at Louisiana State University
Coastal Data Information Program -
A cooperative program between the Scripps Institution of Oceanography,
the Army Corps of Engineers, and the California Department of Boating and
Waterways. Describes, monitors, and archives oceanographic data for the
southern and central California coast.
Coastal Resources Center of the University
of Rhode Island. This is a particularly good site for coastal management
issues. Many excellent links.
Land-Ocean Interactions in the Coastal
Zone (LOICZ) from the Netherlands Institute for Sea Research.
Check out the newsletter and core research pages.
Coastal Ocean Institute and Rinehart
Coastal Research Center of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.
Research emphasis on all phases of oceanography affecting the coast.
U.S. Federal OrganizationsCoastal and Hydraulics Laboratory of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineershttp://chl.erdc.usace.army.mil/ Field Research Facility of
the Army Corps of Engineers CERC at Duck, North Carolina. This facility
is one of the most advanced facilities for studying coastal processes in
the world. The virtual tour provides explanations of the facility and its
research.
Fish and Wildlife Service Coastal
Program
of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service.
National Estuary
Program Home Page
National Estuary
Program - Gulf Coast
National Estuary
Program Northeast Region
National Estuary
Program South Atlantic Region
National Estuary
Program West Coast Region
National Estuary Program Caribbean Region
NOAA Coastal
Shoreline site - policy and science
NOAA National Centers for Coastal
Ocean Science
NOAA Office of Ocean
and Coastal Resource Management
NOAA's National Estuarine Research Reserves System (NERRS)
NOAA National Marine Sanctuaries Program
United States Geological Survey
Center for Coastal and Watershed Studies - St. Petersburg, Florida, field office.
Mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea.
United States Geological
Survey Western Region Coastal and Marine Geology - Menlo Park, California. Mapping,
current, estuary studies, some deepsea.
United States Geological Survey
Field Center for Coastal and Marine Geology in Woods Hole, Massachusetts - Woods Hole, Massachusetts, field program.
Mapping, current, estuary studies, some deepsea.
On-line PublicationsGlossary of
coastal terminology from the NOAA Coastal Services Center
State OrganizationsMaine Department of Conservation Marine Geology Program. Be sure to check out the fact sheets and the photo gallery.http://www.state.me.us/doc/nrimc/mgs/marine/marine.htm MCZM - Massachusetts
Coastal Zone Management Office
Coral ReefsCoral
Bleaching hotspots derived from Sea Surface Temperature charts at NOAA/NESDIS.
Coral Health and Monitoring Home
Page (CHAMP) - NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories.
Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network
International Coral Reef Initiative
International Coral Reef Initiative -The International Coral Reef Information Network (ICRIN) is a communications and information project of the International Coral Reef Action Network (ICRAN). The website includes a library, photobank, education and outreach materials, newsletter, and more.
NASA Helps Researchers Diagnose Recent Coral Bleaching at Great Barrier Reef
NOAA Photo Library "The Coral Kingdom"
NOAA's Coral Reef Conservation Program - a wealth of information about coral reefs.
NOAA's Coral Reef Information System (CoRIS) - provides access to NOAA's coral reef data and information products.
NOAA's International
Year of the Coral Reef 1997
NOAA's Coral Reef "Degree Heating Weeks"
Satellite Coral Bleaching Monitoring Datasets
(Google Earth Format)
NOAA's Coral Reef Watch
REEF - The Reef Environmental Education
Foundation.
Reefbase, a global information system on coral reefs, from the World Fish Center and the
International Coral Reef Action Network.
Status of Coral Reefs of the World: 2004
U.S. Coral Reef Task Force
DivingNOAA Diving Program administered through the Office of NOAA Corps Operations - this program overseas over 9,000 operational science and engineering dives per year. Also responsible for producing the NOAA Dive Manual.http://www.ndc.noaa.gov/ The Great American
Fish Count - join the diving community in helping monitor America's
underwater living resources.
Undersea and Hyberbaric Medical Society
Underwater Science and Educational
Resources from Indiana University. Includes diving information,
marine archaeology, artificial reef and marine biology information.
Endangered SpeciesEndangered Species Overview from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Marine Fisheries Servicehttp://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/laws/esa.htm Endangered Species Program
of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
World Conservation
Monitoring Centre (UK). Species, protected areas, forests, marine areas,
national biodiversity profiles, WCMC Library catalog.
|
||||||||||
| ||||||||||