(none)
NOAA Central Library
 Contact Us | Catalog | Ask-A-Librarian | Feedback | A-Z Index
All of NOAA

WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide

PHOTO GALLERIES for EDUCATORS and STUDENTS

The links below will take you on a fascinating journey covering the oceans and the atmosphere and man's efforts to measure and understand them.  

THE NOAA PHOTO LIBRARY

Home Page of the NOAA Photo Library which has 20 albums with over 20,000 images.

National Severe Storms Laboratory Collection (250 photos)

National Undersea Research Program Collection (500 photos)

There are also many historic photos in the NOAA Photo Library including a few below:

The Coast and Geodetic Survey Collection (4,000 photos)
The National Weather Service Collection (500 photos)
The National Marine Fisheries Service Collection (260 photos)

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL SATELLITE, DATA, AND INFORMATION SERVICE PHOTO and  DIGITAL IMAGERY SITES
 

NCDC Images of Hurricanes
http://www5.ncdc.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/hsei/hsei.pl?directive=welcome

NCDC Satellite's Eye Art Galleries
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/ol/satellite/satelliteseye/satelliteseye.html

NGDC Geologic Hazards CD Roms
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/seg/fliers/se-0801.shtml#cdrom

NGDC NSIDC snow, ice, and glacier gallery (Note: This link will take you to a non-federal website.)
http://nsidc.org/gallery/

NGDC digital marine geology and geophysics images
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/image/images.html

NGDC marine geology and geophysics poster and image page
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/announcements/posters.html

Multi-Dimensional Imagery from polar orbiting and geostationary satellites
operated by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration-NOAA.
http://www.nnvl.noaa.gov/

http://www.nnvl.noaa.gov/

Operational Significant Event Imagery [OSEI]
http://www.osei.noaa.gov/

Office of Systems Development The GOES-N Photo Library Kennedy Spage Center, Florida..
http://www.osd.noaa.gov/GOES/goes_n_photo.htm

NATIONAL MARINE FISHERIES SERVICE PHOTOSITES

Alaska Laboratory Photo Gallery
http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/race/media/photo_gallery/speciesID.htm

Albatross IV fishery research vessel index of photos
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/albatross4/picture.html

Delaware II fishery research vessel index of photos
http://www.wh.whoi.edu/library/history/ships/delaware2/images/oldpics/

Historical photos from Northeast Fisheries Science Center.  This site has close to 3,000 photos that can be browsed or searched.
http://www.nefsc.noaa.gov/history/photos.html

Image Galleries from the National Marine Mammal Laboratory
http://nmml.afsc.noaa.gov/gallery/images.htm

Multi-media Library at the Northwest Fisheries Science Center
http://www.nwfsc.noaa.gov/education/teacher.cfm
 

NATIONAL OCEAN SERVICE PHOTOSITES

Emergency Response Imagery
http://ngs.woc.noaa.gov/eri_page/index.html

EXXON VALDEZ oil spill images from ORCA
http://response.restoration.noaa.gov/photos/exxon/exxon.html

Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary Photo Gallery
http://www.fbnms.nos.noaa.gov/HTML/gallery.html

Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Photo Gallery
http://www.sanctuaries.nos.noaa.gov/pgallery/pghawaii/pghawaii.html

Hurricane Katrina Images
http://ngs.woc.noaa.gov/katrina/

National Marine Sanctuary photos gallery. Hundred of photos in 5 categories.
http://www.sanctuaries.nos.noaa.gov/pgallery

NGS Remote Sensing photo gallery
http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/notablephotos/notable.cfm

NOAA HAZMAT Photo Gallery of oil spills Office of Response and Restoration
http://response.restoration.noaa.gov/photos/gallery.html

Ocean Explorer Gallery Includes videos, slide shows, photos and audio files
http://www.oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/gallery/gallery.html

Underwater Video Gallery hosted by Channel Islands
http://channelislands.nos.noaa.gov/focus/av_gallery.html


NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE - WEATHER SERVICE FORECAST OFFICE [WSFO] PHOTOSITES

California - Los Angeles WSFO Photo Gallery
http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/lox/photos.php

Colorado - Grand Junction WSFO Image Gallery
http://www.crh.noaa.gov/gjt/?n=imagegallery

Iowa - Quad Cities WSFO Photo Gallery
http://www.crh.noaa.gov/dvn/wxart/

Kansas - Goodland Kansas WSFO Photo Album
http://www.crh.noaa.gov/gld/photogallery/

Kentucky - Paducah Photo Gallery
http://www.crh.noaa.gov/pah/photo/gallery.php

Nevada - Elko WSFO Photo Gallery
http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/lkn/photogal.php

North Dakota - University Corporation for Atmospheric Research photosite through Bismarck WSFO
(Note: This link will take you to a non-federal website.)
http://www.inclouds.com/

Vermont - Ice Storm Images from the Burlington Weather Service Forecast Office
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/er/btv/html/ice98.html

NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MISCELLANEOUS PHOTOSITES

Marine Prediction Center Photo Gallery
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/historic/nws/surf1.html

National Weather Service Lightning Photos
http://www.lightningsafety.noaa.gov/photos.htm

Ohio River Forecast Center Photo Gallery
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/ER/iln/gallery.htm


OFFICE OF OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC RESEARCH PHOTOSITES

AOML Hurricane Research Division photos in the eye of Hurricane Olivia
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/storms/olivia94.html

AOML NOAA Ship RONALD H. BROWN - Life at Sea on the Ronald H. Brown and other photos
http://www.moc.noaa.gov/rb/index.html 

Arctic Theme Page
http://www.arctic.noaa.gov/gallery.html

Environmental Technology Laboratory 1996 Review Posters with many radar images
http://www.etl.noaa.gov/about/review/

Environmental Technology Fort Huachuca Profiler Project
http://www.etl.noaa.gov/technology/archive/fth/gallery_fth.html

Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory
Webcams: http://www.glerl.noaa.gov/webcams/

Photo Gallery: http://www.glerl.noaa.gov/pubs/photogallery/

Great Lakes Water Level Photogallery
http://www.glerl.noaa.gov/seagrant/glwlphotos/GLWLPhotoSite.html

GFDL Visualizations of Atmospheric Phenomena
http://www.gfdl.gov/~jps/GFDL_VG_Gallery.html

Ocean Explorer Gallery. Each of NOAA's expeditions will offer a rich collection of images.
Some will provide video, slideshows or audio.
http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/gallery/gallery.html

PMEL New Millennium Observatory multimedia gallery (may load slowly)
http://newport.pmel.noaa.gov/nemo_cruise98/multimedia.html
http://newport.pmel.noaa.gov/nemo_cruise98/image-bio.html (Creatures from the Deep)
http://newport.pmel.noaa.gov/nemo_cruise98/image-tech.html  (Tools and Technology)

Robert H. Brown Profiler Project on the West Coast.
http://www.etl.noaa.gov/technology/archive/ronbrown/gallery.html

Space Environment Center Space Weather Operations
http://www.sec.noaa.gov/solar_sites.html
 

OTHER GOVERNMENT SITES

Johnson Space Center Digital Image Collection- over 250,000 Earth images
http://images.jsc.nasa.gov/

NASA Earth Science Enterprise image gallery
http://earth.nasa.gov/multimedia/index.html

NASA Sustainable Seas Video Archive
http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/ltc/sse/

Landsat7 images
http://landsat.gsfc.nasa.gov/main/images.html

Mission to Geospace -  Hot Pics - Cool Movies  - Probing the Earth/Sun Connection from NASA
http://pwg.gsfc.nasa.gov/istp/outreach/coolpics.html 
 

SELECTED ACADEMIC SITES

National Snow and Data Center Glacier Photograph Collection at affilaited with the University of Colorado http://www.nsidc.org/data/glacier_photo/ ---(Note: This link will take you to a non-federal website.)

NOAA P-3 aircraft photos from University Corporation on Atmospheric Research
http://www.cmdl.noaa.gov/aero/about/sheridan/Aircraft_photos.html --- (Note: This link will take you to a non-federal website.)

Snow crystal gallery from Caltech (Note: This link will take you to a non-federal website.)
http://www.its.caltech.edu/~atomic/snowcrystals/

One picture is worth a thousand words ....  Anonymous
 

  Last modified:    Tue, 5-May-2009 12:14 UTC Library.Reference@noaa.gov
 
Dept. of Commerce - NOAA - NESDIS - NODC
* External link: You will be leaving the Federal
   Government by following an external link.
USA.gov - The U.S. Government's Web Portal