![]() |
||
| ||
| You are Here: Library Home > Research
Tools > Subject Guides &
; Weather and Climate Sites
|
||||||||||
Weather and Climate Sites |
||||||||||
|
The following web sites have been compiled by the NOAA Central Library staff. Note: These links lead to resources not on the NOAA Library website. Air Quality (Office of Science and Technology, National Weather Service)
Air Quality Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
All Weather Is Good: Books and Websites About the Weather and Climate
prepared by the National Weather Center Library, University of Oklahoma
American Meteorological Society home page
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Eastern Region:
Baltimore, MD/Washington, DC)
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Eastern Region:
Philadelphia, PA/Mount Holly, NJ)
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Southern Region: Amarillo, Texas)
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Southern
Region: Huntsville, Alabama)
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Southern Region: Midland/Odessa, Texas
(email your weather question to the Editor of their Dust Devil Digest newsletter or their webmaster: see last page of any volume of the newsletter))
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Western Region:
Flagstaff, Arizona)
Ask-A-Meteorologist (National Weather Service Alaska Region: Anchorage, Alaska)
Ask the Experts: Your weather questions answered -
submit a weather question, view answers to FAQs, view the questions and answers archive (USA Today)
Atlantic Coast Observer Network MD/DE/DC Chapter - local
climatological data back to 1992 (hosted by Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab)
Atlantic Coast Observer Network VA/NC/SC Chapter - local climatological data reports
Aviation Weather Center provides aviation warnings and forecasts of hazardous flight conditions at all levels within
domestic and international air space (National Weather Service National Centers for Environmental Prediction)
Career Center - all about careers in the atmospheric and related sciences
(American Meteorological Society)
Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere Studies
Climate Change (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Climate Change: A Paleo Perspective on Global Warming
(National Climatic Data Center)
Climate Data Online System - U.S. divisional
and global climatological data (National Climatic Data Center)
Climate extremes (U.S.) - view dates and locations of all time extremes of
weather elements (maximum and minimum temperature, 24-hour rainfall and snowfall, snow depth, maximum annual precipitation, wind gust, and hailstones)
for entire U.S. or by state (State Climate Extremes Committee, National Climatic Data Center)
Climate glossaries and weather tools - from the Earth System Research Laboratory
Climate Maps of the United States database - access maps
for climatic elements including precipitation, temperature, wind, sky cover/visibility, heating/cooling degree days, sea level
pressure, freeze/frost. The period of record of the data for most of the maps is 1961-1990. (National Climatic Data Center)
Climate Monitoring (National Climatic Data Center)
Climate Prediction Center monitors and forecasts short-term climate fluctuations and provides
information on the
effects climate patterns can have on the nation (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
Climate Program Office (Office of Oceanic & Atmospheric Research)
Climate Services Division of the National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water,
and Weather Services
Climate vs. Weather - a brief explanation of the differences between
them (Climate Services
Division of the National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Climates of the States publication - a modified version of the "Climatography of the United States, #60, Climate of the States" publication.
Select individual state reports for descriptions of the geography and climate of the state. (National Climatic Data Center)
Climates of the World publication - includes a brief discussion of the principal features of climates of all the continents, temperature and precipitation data, etc. (originally printed in 1969 and revised in 1991 (National Climatic Data Center))
Clouds
Comparative Climatic
Data - observed data and climatological normals (the normals are for the 1971-2000 period. The new 1981-2010 normals will be included in the 2012 issue.) for
the U.S. (National Climatic Data Center)
Cooperative Observer Program (National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water,
and Weather Services)
Daily Synoptic Weather Maps
(Northern Hemisphere Sea Level) - this collection provides access to historical daily synoptic weather maps for the northern hemisphere
from 1899 to 1971. Browse by year to access the maps and to consult the Source and Analysis files for explanations of symbols, time of observation,
list of data sources for individual countries, etc.
Daily Weather Maps (United States) from 2003 to the present -
prepared by the Weather Prediction Center, National Centers for Environmental Prediction (National Weather Service)
Drought information (U.S.) (Climate Prediction Center, National Weather Service)
El Nino Theme Page (Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory,
NOAA's Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research)
Environmental Modeling Center develops and improves numerical weather, climate, hydrological and ocean prediction
through a broad program in partnership with the research community (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
Excessive Heat Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
Experimental Long-Lead Forecast Bulletin (Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere
Studies)
Extreme Events - access information about extreme U.S. events such as heat waves, droughts,
tornadoes, hurricanes, etc. (National Climatic Data Center)
Extreme weather and climate events - billion
$$ weather disasters, heavy precipitation, temperature extremes & drought, Storm Events Database, El Nino/La Nina, U.S.
hurricanes, etc. (National Climatic Data Center)
Fire Weather (National Weather Service)
Flood statistics - fatality data, flood damage data, loss reports, etc. (Hydrologic
Information Center, National Weather Service)
Flooding Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
Forecast terminology (National Weather Service La Crosse, WI Forecast Office)
Freeze/frost probability tables for the U.S. (National Climatic Data Center)
Fujita Tornado Damage Scale - a set of wind estimates based
on damage. The F-Scale was developed in 1971 by T. Theodore Fujita at the University of Chicago (Storm Prediction
Center/National Weather Service)
Geostationary Satellite Server: current geostationary satellite images
(National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service)
Global climate change (National Climatic Data Center)
Global measured extremes of temperature and precipitation
(National Climatic Data Center)
Global Warming FAQ (National Climatic Data Center)
Glossary of Meteorology from the American Meteorological Society
Heat and Heat Index Information (National Weather Service Office of
Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Heating and cooling degree data for the U.S. (National
Climatic Data Center)
Historical foreign climate data - NOAA Central Library
Climate Data Imaging Project
Historical Significant Events Imagery -
Global satellite imagery of significant weather and environmental events for past 30 years (National Climatic Data Center)
Hurricane/Tropical Cyclone FAQ (Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological
Laboratory, NOAA's Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research)
Hurricane History for the Washington and
Baltimore Region (National Weather Service Baltimore/Washington Forecast Office)
Hurricanes - maps (landfalling hurricanes), special reports, summaries by basin, etc. (National Climatic Data Center)
Hurricanes/Tropical Weather Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic
& Atmospheric Administration)
Hydrologic Information/River Observations (Advanced Hydrologic Prediction Service, National Weather Service)
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (World Meteorological Organization, United Nations Environment Programme)
International Commission on History of Meteorology
JetStream - Online School For Weather (National Weather Service Fort Worth, TX Forecast Office)
La Nina Theme Page (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
Lightning Safety (National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water,
and Weather Services)
Local Weather Data - select city/local forecast office on U.S. map (National Weather Service Fort Worth,
TX Forecast Office)
Map of temperature extremes (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers)
Marine data - surface marine data from around the world
are archived at National Climatic Data Center
Marine forecasts (National Weather Service Office of Climate,
Water, and Weather Services)
Mariners Weather Log publication - contains articles, news and information about
marine weather events and phenomena, storms at sea, weather forecasting, the National Weather Service Voluntary Observing Ship (VOS
) Program, Port Meteorological Officers (PMOs), cooperating ships officers, and their vessels. (National Data Buoy Center, National
Weather Service)
Monthly Weather Review publication -
access to Volumes 1 (1873) - present (NOAA Central Library's Monthly Weather Review Archives Project)
The National Center for Atmospheric Research - operated by
the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP) (National Weather Service)
National Centers for Environmental Prediction Central Operations sustains and executes the operational suite of
numerical analyses and forecast models and prepares NCEP products for dissemination (National Weather Service)
National Climatic Data Center - NCDC is the world’s largest active archive of weather
data (National Environmental, Satellite, Data and Information Service)
National Data Buoy Center - NDBC designs, develops, operates, and maintains a network of data
collecting buoys and coastal stations (National Weather Service)
National Hurricane Center provides forecasts of the movement and strength of tropical weather systems and issues watches
and warnings for the U.S. and surrounding areas (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
National Ice Center - a multi-agency operational center operated by the
U.S. Navy, NOAA, and the U.S. Coast Guard
National Severe Storms Laboratory (NOAA's Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research)
National Snow and Ice Data Center - NSIDC is part of the University of Colorado
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, and is affiliated with NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center
through a cooperative agreement
National Weather Service contact page
National Weather Service FAQ site (Public Affairs Office)
National Weather Service Forecast Office sites - access
recent (NOW Data) and historical local weather data, local forecasts, etc. (offices shown on map)
National Weather Service Glossary
National Weather Service home page
National Weather Service Interactive Weather Information Network
(IWIN) - U.S. forecasts, warnings, and advisories
National Weather Service Internet Weather Source - weather conditions
for past 24 hours, forecasts, watches, and warnings for U.S. and also international weather conditions for past 24 hours
National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services (formerly the NWS Office of
Meteorology: access information about weather services; weather awareness and safety information; publications (service assessments, brochures, etc.);
weather information; educational information; etc.)
National Weather Service Public Affairs Office
Natural hazard statistics - weather fatalities, injuries, and damages
caused by severe weather such as lightning strikes, tornadoes, tropical cyclones, heat, flooding, cold, winter storms, and wind
(National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Natural hazards data, images, and education (National Geophysical Data Center)
NOAA Climate Portal (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA Environmental Visualization Laboratory (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA Weather Radio (National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather
Services)
NOAA Weather Theme Page (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
NOAAWatch: NOAA's All Hazard Monitor - featured topics include droughts, fire weather, winter weather, flooding,
excessive heat, rip currents, etc. (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
Ocean Prediction Center issues weather warnings and forecasts out to five days for the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans
north of 30 degrees North (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
Ocean's Role in Climate slide show from NOAA's National Oceanographic Data Center
and Climate Program Office. Also access additional presentations in the library, global and local data, ClimateWatch Magazine, educational material, etc. (NOAA
Climate Portal)
Online Meteorology Guides - a collection of web-based instructional modules
(University of Illinois)
Operational Significant Event Imagery - detailed imagery of significant global environmental events. The last
image added to this site was generated in July 2010 and this site will remain available to locate imagery generated prior to August 1, 2010. See the NOAA
Environmental Visualization Laboratory site for imagery generated since then. (National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service)
Ozone (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration) - see Science (Ozone Basics,
Layers of the Atmosphere, Ozone Depletion, etc.), FAQs, etc.
Polar-Orbiting Operational Environmental Satellites (POES) (Office of Satellite and Product
Operations, National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service)
Post Storm Data Acquisition - for selected extreme weather events
occurring between 1997 and 2005 (National Weather Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Precipitation - Precipitation Frequency (PF) information and publications
(Hydrometeorological Design Studies Center/National Weather Service)
Precipitation - Probable Maximum Precipitation (PMP) information and
publications (Hydrometeorological Design Studies Center/National Weather Service)
Precipitation products (NOAA Satellite Services Division)
Precipitation - USA record point precipitation
measurements (Hydrometeorological Design Studies Center/National Weather Service)
Precipitation - World record point precipitation
measurements (Hydrometeorological Design Studies Center/National Weather Service)
Radar imagery for the U.S. (National Weather Service)
Regional Climate Centers - High Plains, Northeast, Midwestern, Southeast, Southern,
and Western (Northeast Regional Climate Center)
Regional climate maps (U.S.)
(National Weather Service Climate Prediction Center)
Relative humidity and dew point tables (National Weather Service Sacramento, CA Forecast Office)
Rip Currents Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
River Forecast Centers - Alaska-Pacific, Arkansas-Red Basin,
California-Nevada, Colorado Basin, Lower Mississippi, Middle Atlantic, Missouri Basin, North Central, Northeast, Northwest, Ohio,
Southeast, and West Gulf (National Weather Service)
Satellite Imagery of the U.S. - see the most recent image of the United States, from
NOAA geostationary (GOES) satellites. They are generated every 30 minutes using either the Visible, Infrared, Shortwave Infrared (4um), or the Water Vapor images
into one larger composite image using GOES East and West Imagers (also view loop).
Service assessments - of catastrophic weather events (National
Weather Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Severe weather awareness (National Weather Service)
Severe Weather Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
Space Weather Prediction Center provides space weather alerts and warnings for disturbances that can affect people
and equipment working in space and on earth (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
Space Weather Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
State Climate Offices (American Association of State Climatologists)
Storm Events Database - details of U.S. (by county) weather events, including winter storms, excessive heat,
drought, heavy rain, thunderstorm winds, lightning strikes, tornadoes, tropical storms, etc. (National Climatic Data Center)
Storm Prediction Center provides tornado and severe weather watches for the contiguous United States along with a suite
of hazardous weather forecasts (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
StormReady (Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services, National Weather Service)
Storm Surge & Coastal Floods Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic
& Atmospheric Administration)
Sunrise/sunset computations (one day) - for U.S. and worldwide locations
(U.S. Naval Observatory)
Tornado FAQ (Storm Prediction Center/National Weather Service)
Tsunami Warning Center - Pacific (National Weather Service)
Tsunami Warning Center - West Coast and Alaska (National Weather Service)
Ultraviolet Index Bulletin (operationally updated)
(National Weather Service)
Ultraviolet Index Forecast
(Climate Prediction Center, National Weather Service)
Ultraviolet Radiation Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
U.S. Army Signal Corps Annual
Reports - The Signal Corps carried out the work of meteorological observations in the U.S. during the years 1861-1891.
In 1891 the meteorological work was transferred to the newly-formed U.S. Weather Bureau in the Dept. of Agriculture. (NOAA
Central Library)
U.S. Climate at a Glance (National Climatic Data Center)
U.S. Climate Normals - 1981-2010 product
suite (National Climatic Data Center)
U.S. Global Change Research Program - integrating federal research on global change and
climate change
Warnings, watches, and advisories - differences between
them (National Weather Service Boise, ID Forecast Office)
Washington Post's Weather Page - weather for Washington, D.C.
Weather Calculators - convert from celsius to fahrenheit, calculate
wind chill, calculate heat index, calculate relative humidity, etc. (National Weather Service Boston, MA Forecast Office)
The Weather Channel - look up the weather for every U.S. zip code and also for
thousands of international cities
Weather/Climate Events Data - access page to many NCDC products and
reports: the most recent U.S. Climate Normals product suite, Local Climatological Data and Climatological Data reports, Rainfall Frequency Atlas
of the U.S., Freeze/Frost Data for the U.S., Heating and Cooling Degree Day data, etc. (National Climatic Data Center)
Weather Education Resources (National Weather Service
Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Weather instrument shelter - suggested dimensions/specifications (National Weather Service)
Weather instrument station (for kids) -
build your own to include 6 instruments: anemometer (wind speed), weather vane (wind direction),
barometer (atmospheric pressure), screened thermometer (air temperature), hygrometer (humidity), and rain gauge (rainfall)
Weather map symbols (National Weather Service)
Weather Prediction Center (formerly the Hydrometeorological Prediction Center) provides nationwide analysis and
forecast guidance products out through seven days (National Centers for Environmental Prediction, National Weather Service)
Weather-Ready Nation (WRN) - preparedness tips for natural hazards
(National Weather Service)
Weather safety/emergency preparedness brochures - topics include hurricanes, tornadoes,
climate change, heat waves, flood safety, droughts, thunderstorms/lightning, winter storms, rip currents, etc. (National Weather Service)
Weather satellite imagery - real time (National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service)
Weather terminology - general forecast terminology, severe weather terms, winter weather
advisory terms, winter weather warning terms, non-precipitation weather terms, hydrologic terms, coastal/oceanic/marine terms, and general weather glossary
National Weather Service Louisville, KY Forecast Office)
Weather Underground - global weather data (present day and historical: for historical, scroll to "History
& Almanac" after retrieving weather for a specified location)
Weatherwise - The Magazine About the Weather
Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin (January 1971 -
present) - report is jointly published by the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration, the National Agricultural
Statistics Service, and the World Agricultural Outlook Board
Wind data for the U.S. - this is historical station based data.
The period of record for this summary is 1930-1996 but it varies for individual sites (National Climatic Data Center)
Windchill - access to windchill chart, FAQ, calculator, etc. (National Weather
Service Office of Climate, Water, and Weather Services)
Winter Weather Theme Page - a featured topic of NOAAWatch (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
World Climate Research Programme
World Data Center for Glaciology, Boulder, Colorado - operated under a cooperative agreement between the University
of Colorado, the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES), and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The WDC
for Glaciology is collocated with the National Snow and Ice Data Center.
World Data Center for Meteorology, Asheville, North Carolina
(maintained by NOAA, collocated with and operated by the National Climatic Data Center)
World Data Center for Oceanography, Silver Spring, Maryland (collocated
with and operated by the National Oceanographic Data Center)
World Data Center for Paleoclimatology (operated by the National
Climatic Data Center, collocated with the National Geophysical Data Center)
World Meteorological Organization of the United Nations - link
to WMO publications, news, members by region, etc.
|
||||||||||
| ||||||||||