|
As noted below, some databases are restricted to specific NOAA Washington D.C. area campuses, while others are freely available to anyone. For NOAA employees outside of the Washington, D.C. area, check with your NOAA library.
AGRICOLA*
(Abstracts available to anyone) Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
- American Fisheries Society (AFS)*
(Available only to NOAA) Search full-text of AFS journals.
- American Meteorological Society (AMS)*
(Full-text available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library; abstracts available to anyone)
Search full-text of AMS journals.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)*
(Available NOAA-wide)
International bibliography of science, technology and management of marine, brackish, and freshwater environment and organisms from 1971 to present.
- BioOne*
(Available NOAA-wide) BioOne brings to the Web an aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals previously only available in print. The database currently contains 84 peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Search all the journals together or individual journals.
- CiteSeer*
(Available to anyone)
CiteSeer indexes computer and information science literature, utilizing Autonomous Citation Indexing (ACI) to compute citation statistics for all articles cited in the database.
- Conference Papers Index*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world from 1982 to present.
- Dialog*
(Available to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
Dialog aggregates hundreds of databases through its search service, including news, social sciences, business, science, and more. Contact library staff for customized searches at Library.Reference@noaa.gov or call the Reference Desk at 301-713-2600 ext. 124.
- Directory of Open Access Journals*
(Available to anyone)
Browse free, full-text quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals by title or subject. Covers Biology, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, and more. Includes international titles.
- Elsevier Science*
(Abstracts available to anyone)
Search article abstracts and table of contents of Elsevier journals. See also Science Direct.
- First Search Databases*
(Available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
Over 70 online, subject-specific databases. A username/password is required to access this database. Information can be obtained at the Reference Desk at (301)-713-2600 ext. 124 or Library.Reference@noaa.gov.
- Google Scholar*
(Available to anyone)
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, book, abstracts and articles from academic publishers and professional societies, preprint repositories and more; try 'Advanced Search' to search Author names in combination with titles, or to limit search to a certain web domain, publication, or subject areas.
- Hein Online*
Online access to legal periodical content in the original page-image (PDF) format. Includes Law journals, American Law Institute library, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Foreign & International Law Resources, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), International Law Association Reports, Political Science journals, Treaties, and more. Complete list of resources (.xls format)
- IngentaConnect*
(Abstracts available to anyone)
Searches article abstracts from over 30,000 academic and professional publications and includes a Browse feature to browse titles by subject area such as Biology/Life Sciences, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, etc.
- ISI Highly Cited*
Search for the top researchers in the life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social science by name, category, country, or institutional affiliation.
- Journal Citation Reports Science Edition*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 5,900 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science and technology. PLEASE NOTE: this log-in link provides access to both Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, and free ISI databases.
- JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Complete full-text archives of core scholarly journals, some dating from the 1800s. Search by topic, keywords, titles, authors and dates.
- Lexis-Nexis (Available to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
Lexis-Nexis offers news, business and legal information. Contact library staff for customized searches at Library.Reference@noaa.gov or call the Reference Desk at 301-713-2600 ext. 124.
- Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts*
(Available only to NOAA Staff at Silver Spring and Camp Springs)
Index of the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, and hydrology from 1977 to present.
- National Academies Press (NAP)*
(Available to anyone)
Search over 2,500 reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
- National Research Council Canada*
(Abstracts available to anyone)
Browse abstracts and table of contents of the publications of NRCC Research Press.
- NetLibrary*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Features more than 300 online book titles, including
200 Information Technology (IT) books on subjects including HTML, XHTML, XML, Visual Basic.Net, CGI, Dreamweaver, PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development, and more.
- Oceanic Abstracts*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Indexes and abstracts worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment from 1981 to present.
- Science Direct*
(Available only to NOAA Staff at Silver Spring)
Provides access to 38 online full-text journals from Elsevier Science.
- STAT-USA*
(Available only at public workstations in NOAA Libraries - ask librarian for assistance with username and password.)
STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for one-stop shopping for authoritative U.S. business, economic and trade information. Includes USA Trade Online, NTDB, Fish and Fishery Product Imports and Exports, Country Background Notes, FedBizOpps, World Factbook, and much more.
- Toxline*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the care journal literature in toxicology from the last five years.
- Water Resources Abstracts*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
- Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Indexes over 5,800 leading international scientific journals, provides author, cited reference and keyword searching, and provides links to the original full-text if the library has a subscription. Current subscription covers the years 1984-present. PLEASE NOTE: this log-in link provides access to both Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, and free ISI databases.
- Wiley Interscience Journals*
(Available NOAA-wide)
Over 200 full-text journals from Wiley. Complete list of Wiley journal titles (.xls format)
- Worldcat*
(Available only to NOAA staff serviced by the NOAA Central Library)
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. The database contains all the records cataloged by Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) member libraries; offers millions of bibliographic records; and includes records representing 400 languages. A username/password is required to access this database. Information can be obtained at the Reference Desk at (301)-713-2600 ext. 124.
|